Top 14 Wrap: Clermont defeat Toulouse

Date published: March 20 2016

Grenoble got the better of Brive while Clermont fended off Toulouse in a blockbuster fixture in the Top 14 on Sunday.


Stade Français 33-20 La Rochelle
Montpellier 60-7 Racing 92
Pau 21-16 Castres
Oyonnax 30-28 Agen


Grenoble 26-22 Brive
Clermont 32-23 Toulouse

Grenoble 26-22 Brive
Stade des Alpes, Grenoble

Grenoble held off Brive at the Stade des Alpes despite going to 14 men in the final ten minutes as they won on Sunday.

Steven Setephano and Gio Aplon both scored tries for the hosts but it was Aplon's late yellow card which set up a tense finish.

Brive registered a try of their own through fly-half Mathieu Ugalde but the rest of the contest was settled by the boots of Jonathan Wisniewski and Gaëten Germain.

Wisniewski finished with 16 points thanks to four penalties and two conversion, while Germain finished with 17 points to move back into first place in the Top 14's scoring rankings ahead of Agen's Burton Francis.

All of Grenoble's 26 points came by the 53rd minute, leaving Brive to mount a comeback as Germain's fifth penalty in the 78th minute made it 26-22, but they couldn't snatch the win.

Grenoble's eighth win of the season moves them two points behind Brive in the table.

The scorers:

For Grenoble:
Tries: Setephano, Aplon
Cons: Wisniewski 2
Pens: Wisniewski 4
Yellow Cards: Aplon, Desmaison

For Brive:
Try: Ugalde
Cons: Germain
Pens: Germain 5

Grenoble: 15 Fabien Gengenbacher, 14 Xavier Mignot, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Fabrice Estebanez, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Jonathan Wisniewski, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Rory Grice, 7 Mahamadou Diaby, 6 Steven Setephano, 5 Hendrik Roodt, 4 Ben Hand, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Arnaud Heguy, 1 Alisona Taumalolo
Replacements: 16 Loick Jammes, 17 Fabien Barcella, 18 James Percival, 19 Henry Vanderglas, 20 James Hart, 21 Nigel Hunt, 22 Tino Nemani, 23 Walter Desmaison

Brive: 15 Gaëtan Germain, 14 Guillaume Namy, 13 Arnaud Mignardi, 12 Chris Tuatara-Morrison, 11 Benedito Masilevu, 10 Mathieu Ugalde, 9 Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 8 Fabien Sanconnie, 7 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 6  Said Hirèche, 5 Arnaud Mela, 4 Johan Snyman, 3 Damien Jourdain, 2 Guillaume Ribes, 1 Lucas Pointud
16 Francois Da Ros, 17 Goderdzi Shvelidze, 18 Peet Marais, 19 Petrus Hauman, 20 Nicolas Bézy, 21 Benjamin Petre, 22 Alfi Mafi, 23 Kevin Buys

Referee: Sébastien Minery

Clermont 32-23 Toulouse
Stade Marcel Michelin, Clermont

Toulouse played out the second half of their trip to Clermont with 14 men after flanker Talalelei Gray was shown a red card for punching Flip van der Merwe.

Alivereti Raka of Clermont and Toulouse number eight Gillian Galan finished with two tries apiece, as the boot of Morgan Parra proved to be crucial for Clermont.

Parra scored 22 points for les Jaunards including six penalties as Clermont moved top of the table following Racing's heavy defeat on Saturday.

Parra and Toulouse's David Mélé traded early penalties before Raka, with a sensational long-range effort, and Galan each crossed the line, Clermont going into the break ahead at 19-13.

Grey's red card then left Toulouse facing an uphill battle but a second try from Galan closed the gap to 22-20, before Clermont pulled away.

The scorers:

For Clermont:
Tries: Raka 2
Cons: Parra 2
Pens: Parra 6
Yellow Card: Van der Merwe

For Toulouse:
Tries: Galan 2
Cons: Mélé 2
Pens: Mélé 3
Red Card: Gray

Clermont: 15 Isaia Toeava, 14 David Strettle, 13 Aurélien Rougerie, 12 Noa Nakaitaci, 11 Alivereti Raka, 10 Brock James, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Alexandre Lapandry, 6 Peceli Yato, 5 Loïc Jacquet, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Dan Kotze, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Raphaël Chaume
16 Pellow van der Westhuizen, 17 Thomas Domingo, 18 Sébastien Vahaamahina, 19 Camille Gerondeau, 20 Ludovic Radosavljevic, 21 Patricio Fernández, 22 Arthur Iturria, 23 Clement Ric

Toulouse: 15 Alexis Palisson, 14 Paul Perez, 13 Yann David, 12 Toby Flood, 11 Timoci Matanavou, 10 Jean-Marc Doussain, 9 David Mélé, 8 Gillian Galan, 7 Imanol Harinordoquy, 6 Talalelei Gray, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Gregory Lamboley, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Cyril Baille, 18 Edwin Maka, 19 Joe Tekori, 20 François Cros, 21 Vincent Clerc, 22 Clément Poitrenaud, 23 Dorian Aldegheri

Referee: Mathieu Noirot