Top 14 Wrap: Brive, UBB win big

Date published: November 28 2015

Brive, Bordeaux-Bègles and Castres all picked up wins in the Top 14's afternoon matches on Saturday, with Brive climbing to fourth.


Montpellier 25-20 La Rochelle

Racing 92 28-13 Toulouse
Oyonnax 9-34 Brive
Bordeaux-Bègles 46-10 Pau
Agen 18-23 Castres
Clermont 9-35 Toulon

Grenoble v Stade Français

Oyonnax 9-34 Brive
Stade Charles Mathon, Oyonnax

Oyonnax continued to struggle at the foot of the Top 14 after a bruising home loss to Brive.

Three penalties from the boot of Nicky Robinson were all that Olivier Azam's side had to show for their efforts in a heavy defeat.

Gaeten Germain, the league's top scorer, scored a try and punished Oyonnax off the kicking tee to help his side climb to fourth in the table with their sixth win of the season. 

Two penalties from Robinson to one from Germain meant that Oyonnax were ahead until the half-hour mark, when the Brive full-back crossed for the game's opening try as he weaved his way past the home side's defence to score under the posts.

Petrus Hauman crashed over soon afterwards to put Brive in control as two more Germain penalties, the second off the crossbar, gave them a 18-6 advantage.

Robinson's third penalty chipped back three points but Germain's boot and a penalty try from the scrum earned Brive an attacking bonus point, having outscored their opponents by three to none.

The scorers:

For Oyonnax:
Pens: Robinson 3

For Brive:
Tries: Germain, Hauman, Penalty Try
Cons: Germain 2
Pens: Germain 5

Oyonnax: 15 Florian Denos, 14 Silvere Tian, 13 Vincent Martin, 12 Eamonn Sheridan, 11 Fetuumoana Vainikolo, 10 Nick Robinson, 9 Fabien Cibray, 8 Viliami Maafu, 7 Pedrie Wannenburg, 6 Pierrick Gunther, 5 Fabrice Metz, 4 Leon william Power, 3 Antoine Guillamon, 2 Jody Jenneker, 1 Laurent Delboulbes. 
Replacements: 16 Jeremie Maurouard, 17 Soane Tonga'uiha, 18 George Robson, 19 Guillaume Bernad, 20 Patrick Sobela, 21 Julien Blanc, 22 Regis Lespinas, 23 Marc Clerc.

Brive: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Benjamin Petre, 13 Arnaud Mignardi, 12 Christopher Tuatara, 11 Sevanaia Galala, 10 Matthieu Ugalde, 9 Teddy Iribaren, 8 Petrus Hauman, 7 Poutasi Luafutu, 6 Said Hireche, 5 Peet Marais, 4 Johan Snyman, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Thomas Acquier, 1 Lucas Pointud. 
Replacements: 16 Guillaume Ribes, 17 Karlen Asieshvili, 18 Wilhem Steenkamp, 19 Victor Lebas, 20 Fabien Sanconnie, 21 Jean baptiste Pejoine, 22 Nicolas Bezy, 23 Giorgi Jgenti.

Referee: Cedric Marchat

Bordeaux-Bègles 46-10 Pau
Stade Chaban Delmas, Bordeaux

UBB scrum-half Yann Lesgourgues scored a hat-trick as the hosts thrashed Pau on Saturday.

The win was the perfect response to the defeat Bordeaux-Bègles suffered in the Champions Cup during the previous weekend to Exeter Chiefs.

Pau's Thierry Daubagna and Baptiste Serin traded early penalties before Lesgourges found a gap for his first try, with Serin following him over in the 26th minute.

Sofiane Guitoune's break in midfield set up Lesgourges for his second score, with Serin adding a penalty to give UBB a healthy 25-3 half-time lead.

Guitoune was again the provider as this time full-back Nans Ducuing crossed the line for try number four, before former France lock Julien Pierre crashed over for Pau from close range.

Even going down to 14 men with Blair Connor sent to the bin couldn't stop Bordeaux-Bègles from winning as Lesgourges sprinted over from 40 metres out to complete his hat-trick, with Ole Avei rounding off the rout as Serin landed his sixth kick out of seven for a huge win.

For UBB:
Tries: Lesgourges 3, Serin, Ducuing, Avei
Cons: Serin 4, Lonca
Pens: Serin 2
Yellow Card: Connor

For Pau:
Tries: Pierre
Cons: Daubugna
Pens: Daubugna

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Nans Ducuing, 14 Metuisela Talebula, 13 Sofiane Guitoune, 12 Julien Rey, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Baptiste Serin, 9 Yann Lesgourgues, 8 Marco Tauleigne, 7 Hugh Chalmers, 6 Louis benoit Madaule, 5 Jandre Marais, 4 Julien Ledevedec, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Wayne Avei, 1 Sebastien Taofifenua. 
Replacements: 16 Ronan Chambord, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Berend Botha, 19 Loann Goujon, 20 Romain Lonca, 21 Felix Le Bourhis, 22 Jean Marcellin Buttin, 23 Jean Baptiste Poux.

Pau: 15 Damien Traille, 14 Sereli Bobo, 13 Jale kaikadavu Vatubua, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Mosese Ratuvou, 10 Brandon Fajardo, 9 Thibault Daubagna, 8 James Coughlan, 7 Patrick Butler, 6 Loic Bernad, 5 Claude Dry, 4 Julien Pierre, 3 Sylvain Charlet, 2 Thomas Bianchin, 1 Jeremy Hurou. 
Replacements: 16 Vincent Campo Castillo, 17 Chris King, 18 Daniel Mark Ramsay, 19 Josefa Domolailai, 20 Samuel Marques, 21 Julien Fumat, 22 Watisoni Votu, 23 Giorgi Natsarashvili.

Referee: Maxime Chalon

Agen 18-23 Castres
Stade Armandie, Agen

Castres battled to a crucial away win against Agen despite going down to 14 men in the second half.

France scrum-half Rory Kockott kicked 13 points as the 2013 champions outscored their hosts by two tries to none.

Kockott's first two penalties came in the first ten minutes to get Castres off to a fast start, Burton Francis responding for the hosts.

New signing Julien Caminati couldn't further the lead for Castres with an effort from 55 metres out but it wasn't long until Castres produced more points through the game's first try through Alex Tulou, after a powerful scrum short of the Agen line.

Francis hit back with a penalty to leave Castres ahead 13-6 at the break.

Two more penalties from the South African fly-half closed the gap between the two sides to a single point, before Kockott responded with three more points to make it 12-16.

Castres lost prop Mihaita Lazar to the bin after he strayed offside and Francis converted the resulting penalty to once again make it a one-point game. 

A sixth Francis penalty put Agen ahead, but it was new boy Caminati who clinched the winning try for Castres, converted by Kockott.

For Agen:
Pens: Francis 6

For Castres:
Tries: Tulou, Caminati
Cons: Kockott 2
Pens: Kockott 3
Yellow Card: Lazar

Agen: 15 Mathieu Lamoulie, 14 Tamaz Mchedlidze, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Lionel Mazars, 11 George Tilsley, 10 Burton Francis, 9 Alexi Bales, 8 Marc Giraud, 7 Antoine Erbani, 6 Luke John Hamilton, 5 William Demotte, 4 Corentin Braendlin, 3 David Ryan, 2 Mike Tadjer, 1 Viliamu Afatia. 
Replacements: 16 Jalil Narjissi, 17 Bernard N nomo, 18 Jean Baptiste Roidot, 19 Sione Tau, 20 Clement Darbo, 21 Julien Heriteau, 22 Ilaitia lekaiwala Tagotago, 23 Ruaan Du Preez.

Castres: 15 Geoffrey Palis, 14 Julien Caminati, 13 Thomas Combezou, 12 Remi Lamerat, 11 David Smith, 10 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Alex Tulou, 7 Alexandre Bias, 6 Yannick Caballero, 5 Rodrigo Capo Ortega, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Yohan Montes, 2 Brice Mach, 1 Mihaita Lazar. 
Replacements: 16 Marc Antoine Rallier, 17 Saimone Taumoepeau, 18 Christophe Samson, 19 Piula Faasalele, 20 Antoine Dupont, 21 Julien Dumora, 22 John Beattie, 23 Karena Wihongi.

Referee: Jérôme Garcès