Top 14 wrap: Big win for Bayonne

Date published: April 25 2015

Bayonne claimed a priceless victory over Grenoble in their fight to avoid relegation from the Top 14 while Brive also won, seeing off Montpellier.

The other games saw Bordeaux-Bègles get the better of Lyon while Oyonnax gave their top six hopes a huge shot in the arm with victory over Racing-Métro.

La Rochelle had earlier stunned a second-string Toulon side but pace-setting rivals Clermont also lost, at Castres, in Saturday's late game.

Saturday's results

La Rochelle 32-29 Toulon
Bayonne 42-33 Grenoble
Brive 15-10 Montpellier
Lyon 22-37 Bordeaux-Bègles
Oyonnax 21-16 Racing-Métro
Castres 31-10 Clermont

Bayonne 42-33 Grenoble
Stade Jean Dauger, Bayonne

75 points were scored at Stade Jean Dauger as Bayonne took a step towards Top 14 safety with this bonus-point win over an out-of-form Grenoble side

The win leaves the hosts just a point behind their visitors in the standings.

France international full-back Scott Spedding scored a hat-trick for his side while wing Joe Rokocoko, centre Matthieu Ugalde and replacement back Martin Bustos Moyano saw them to the maximum-point haul.

In response, Grenoble's points came via a penalty try and one apiece from replacements Jono Owen and Paul Willemse as their season continues to free fall out of control.

The scorers:

For Bayonne:
Tries: Spedding 3, Rokocoko, Ugalde, Bustos Moyano
Con: Fernandez 5, Bustos Moyano

For Grenoble:
Tries: Penalty try, Owen, Willemse
Con: Wisniewski, Aplon, Hart
Pen: Wisniewski 4

Bayonne: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Gabiriele Lovobalavu, 12 Matthieu Ugalde, 11 Marvin O'Connor, 10 Santiago Fernandez, 9 Guillaume Rouet, 8 Benjamin Macome, 7 Jean-Jo Marmouyet, 6 Jean Monribot, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Pelu Taele, 3 Aretz Iguiniz, 2 David Roumieu, 1 Lucas Pointud.
Replacements: 16 Anthony Etrillard, 17 Gert Muller, 18 Charles Ollivon, 19 Lisiate Fa'aoso, 20 Christophe Loustalot, 21 Bastien Fuster, 22 Martin Bustos Moyano, 23 JC Janse Van Rensburg.

Grenoble: 15 Fabien Gengenbacher, 14 Alipate Ratini, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Jackson Willison, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Jonathan Wisniewski, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Rory Grice, 7 Fabien Alexandre, 6 Henry Vanderglas, 5 Hendrik Roodt, 4 Ben Hand, 3 Dayna Edwards, 2 Arnaud Héguy, 1 Fabien Barcella.
Replacements: 16 Laurent Bouchet, 17 Albertus Buckle, 18 Paul Willemse, 19 Ross Skeate, 20 Peter Kimlin, 21 James Hart, 22 Xavier Mignot, 23 Jono Owen.

Referee: Vincet Blasco Baque

Brive 15-10 Montpellier
Stade Amédée Domenech, Brive

Like the aforementioned Bayonne, Brive also claimed an important win as they saw off Montpellier in a low-scoring affair at Stade Amédée Domenech.

As so often has been the case for the hosts, Gaeten Germain's boot did the damage as his five penalty goals made sure Montpol could not scrape the win.

It was 3-3 at the interval after Germain's first penalty and one from Montpellier full-back Ben Lucas, but after the break the Brive man landed four more to make it 15-3 with just nine minutes remaining.

Montpellier wing Yohann Artru did cross for his side in the 78th minute before Lucas' conversion but it was too little too late for the visitors who left with a losing bonus point.

The scorers:

For Brive:
Pen: Germain 5

For Montpellier:
Try: Artu
Con: Lucas
Pen: Lucas

Brive: 15 Gaeten Germain, 14 Guillaume Namy, 13 Sevania Galala, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Benito Masilevu, 10 Nicolas Bézy, 9 Jean-Baptiste Péjoine, 8 Sisi Koyamaibole, 7 Saïd Hirèche, 6 Petrus Hauman, 5 Arnaud Mela, 4 Peet Marais, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Francois Da Ros, 1 Karien Asieshvili.
Replacements: 16 Thomas Acquier, 17 Johan Coetzee, 18 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 19 Hughes Briatte, 20 Damien Neveu, 21 Roman Sola, 22 Alfie Mafi, 23 Giorgi Jgenti.

Montpellier: 15 Ben Lucas, 14 Lucas Dupont, 13 Anthony Tuitavake, 12 Albert Vulivuli, 11 Yohann Artru, 10 François Trinh-Duc, 9 Benoît Paillaugue, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Akapusi Qera, 6 Fulgence Ouedraogo, 5 Thibault Privat, 4 Robins Tchale-Watchou, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Mickaël Ivaldi, 1 Mikheil Nariashvili.
Replacements: 16 Charles Geli, 17 Yvan Watremez, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 Antoine Battut, 20 Jonathan Pelissié, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Benoît Sicart, 23 Chris King.

Referee: Mathieu Raynal

Lyon 22-37 Bordeaux-Bègles
Matmut Stadium, Lyon

Bordeaux-Bègles moved up to eighth in the Top 14 standings after this hard-fought victory over the basement dwellers.

Fly-half Pierre Bernard was the hero as his 22 points via two conversions, five penalties and a drop-goal stood out.

Despite the fifteen-point defeat, Lyon scored the same number of tries as their visitors as hooker Damian Fitzpatrick, full-back Jerome Porical and replacement scrum-half Ricky Januarie crossed.

But with Bernard's boot joining Bordeaux-Bègles' scorers, wing duo Blair Connor (2) and Sofiane Guitoune, the result was never really in doubt.

The scorers:

For Lyon:
Tries: Fitzpatrick, Porical, Januarie
Con: Porical 2
Pen: Porical

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Tries: Connor 2, Guitoune
Con: Bernard 2
Pen: Bernard 5
Drop: Bernard

Lyon: 15 Jérôme Porical, 14 Toby Arnold, 13 Paul Bonnefond, 12 Thibaut Regard, 11 Franck Romanet, 10 Fabrice Estebanez, 9 Mathieu Lorée, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 George Smith, 6 Julien Puricelli, 5 Coenraad Basson, 4 Lionel Nallet, 3 Horatiu Pungea, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Jérémy Castex.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Emmanuel Felsina, 18 Karim Ghezal, 19 Eugène N’Zi, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Lachie Munro, 22 Vincent Martin, 23 Anthony Roux.

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Sofiane Guitoune, 13 Jayden Spence, 12 Julien Rey, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Lionel Beauxis, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Hugo Chalmers, 6 Louis-Benoît Madaule, 5 Jandré Marais, 4 Julien Le Devedec, 3 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 2 Ole Avei, 1 Jean-Baptise Poux.
Replacements: 16 Clément Maynadier, 17 Jefferson Poirot, 18 Berend Botha, 19 Marco Tauleigne, 20 Baptiste Serin, 21 Metuisela Talebula, 22 Pierre Bernard, 23 Patrick Toetu.

Referee: Cedric Marchat

Oyonnax 21-16 Racing-Métro
Stade Charles Mathon, Oyonnax

Oyonnax consolidated their position in the top six as they saw off Racing-Métro in a come-from-behind win.

Trailing 12-13 on the hour mark, the hosts regrouped and worked their way to the points thanks to Ben Urdapilleta's boot. He landed all of his side's 21 points on the day via six penalties and a drop-goal.

Despite the loss, Racing remain in fifth position on 57 points but they missed the chance to put pressure on Stade Francais and Toulouse (both 61) after their meeting on Friday saw the latter get the win.

The scorers:

For Oyonnax:
Pen: Urdapilleta 6
Drop: Urdapilleta

For Racing-Métro:
Try: Imhoff
Con: Machenaud
Pen: Machenaud 3

Oyonnax: 15 Florian Denos (c), 14 Silvère Tian, 13 Guillaume Bousses, 12 Hemani Paea, 11 Dug Codjo, 10 Benjamin Urdapilleta, 9 Fabien Cibray, 8 Villami Ma'afu, 7 Olivier Missoup, 6 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 5 Damien Lagrange, 4 Thibault Lassalle, 3 Marc Clerc, 2 Jody Jenneker, 1 Soane Tonga'uiha.
Replacements: 16 Paula Ngauamo, 17 Ruaan du Preez, 18 Mirek Nemecek, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Valentin Ursache, 21 Regis Lespinas, 22 Roimata Hansell-Pune, 23 Antoine Tichit.

Racing-Métro: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Juan Imhoff, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Alexandre Dumoulin, 11 Teddy Thomas, 10 Benjamin Dambielle, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Antoine Claassen, 7 Camille Gerondeau, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Francois van der Merwe, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Luc Ducalcon, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Eddy Ben Arous.
Replacements: 16 Virgile Lacombe, 17 Julien Brugnaut, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Thibault Dubarry, 20 Mike Phillips, 21 Johan Goosen, 22 Casey Laulala, 23 Brian Mujati.

Referee: Pascal Pechambert