Top 14 wrap: Brive down UBB

Date published: November 7 2015

Brive moved up into the play-off places as they comfortably saw off Bordeaux-Bègles at Amédée Domenech.

Elsewhere Pau moved out of the bottom two as they scraped past Agen, while La Rochelle hammered Oyonnax.

Earlier in the day Toulon had thrashed Montpellier 52-8 on Quade Cooper's full debut.


Toulon 52-8 Montpellier
La Rochelle 38-3 Oyonnax
Pau 33-31 Agen
Brive 16-3 Bordeaux-Bègles
Still to follow…
Toulouse v Grenoble
Castres v Racing 92
Stade Français v Clermont

La Rochelle 38-3 Oyonnax
Stade Marcel Deflandre, La Rochelle

La Rochelle hammered Oyonnax with Afa Amosa scoring twice in their bonus-point success at Marcel Deflandre.

A couple of early penalties from Zack Holmes put La Rochelle into the lead, before  Amosa scored his first try on 15 minutes, ripping the ball from Viliami Maafu from a restart and racing over.

Holmes converted, and did the same again ten minutes later when Pierre Aguillon crossed, finishing off a move started by a Ricky Januarie break, as La Rochelle opened up a 20-0 lead.

Two more Holmes penalties made it 26-0 at the break although Nicky Robinson finally got La Rochelle on the board with a penalty early in the second half.

With ten minutes to go, Levani Botia made the most of a lost Oyonnax lineout to power over and grab the bonus-point try, before Amosa finished things off at the death did similar at the death, with Oyo having lost Soane Tonga'uiha to the sin-bin.

The scorers:

For La Rochelle:
Amosa 2, Aguillon, Botia
Cons: Holmes 2, Audy
Pens: Holmes 4

For Oyonnax:
Pen: Robinson
Yellow Card: Tonga'uiha

La Rochelle: 15 Benjamin Lapeyre, 14 Gabriel Lacroix, 13 Pierre Aguillon, 12 Levani Botia, 11 Alexander Northam, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Enrico Januarie, 8 Kevin Gourdon, 7 Afaesetiti Amosa, 6 Romain Sazy, 5 Romana Graham, 4 Jason Eaton, 3 Uini Atonio, 2 Maxime Gau, 1 Vincent Pelo, 
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Geledan, 17 Thomas Synaeghel, 18 Leandro Cedaro, 19 Damien Lagrange, 20 Julien Audy, 21 Fabien Fortassin, 22 Charles Bouldoire, 23 Lekso Kaulashvili

Oyonnax: 15 Florian Denos, 14 Daniel Ikpefan, 13 Vincent Martin, 12 Eamonn Sheridan, 11 Alaska Taufa, 10 Nick Robinson, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Viliami Maafu, 7 Olivier Missoup, 6 Valentin Ursache, 5 Fabrice Metz, 4 George Robson, 3 Marc Clerc, 2 Jody
Jenneker, 1 Stanley Wright. 
Replacements: 16 Jeremie Maurouard, 17 Soane Tonga'uiha 18 Leon Power, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Fabien Cibray, 21 Régis Lespinas, 22 Pierrick Gunther, 23 Horatiu Pungea.

Referee: Mathieu Raynal

Pau 33-31 Agen
Stade du Hameau, Pau

Pau held on to a narrow victory against Agen to move out of the bottom two in the Top 14, with the visitors having to settle for a bonus point despite scoring four tries.

The home side made the better start with two early penalties from Samuel Marques and a Brandon Fajardo drop goal allowing them to open up a 9-3 lead, with Burton Francis getting a penalty for Agen.

Francis then put Agen in front when he converted George Tilsley's try, the Kiwi winger getting to Alexis Balès' grubber through.

When Viliamu Afatia broke through for Agen, Tamaz Mchedlidze was on hand to finish and score his first try in the Top 14 as Agen stretched their lead to 15-9.

Mosese Ratuvou crossed for Pau before half-time, with Marques converting and adding another penalty to give his side the lead at the break.

Immediately after half-time Sireli Bobo went over for a try on debut, made by Santiago Fernandez, and after Francis had pulled back a penalty for Agen, Julien Fumat's try looked to have wrapped up the points.

Trailing 33-18, Agen again turned to their Georgian winger, and Mchedlidze showed his strength to shake off a number of would-be tacklers, but Francis missed the touchline conversion.

Clément Darbo had Agen's fourth try a couple of minutes later, but again the conversion was missed. Still a penalty from Bautista Guemes had Agen back to within two points, but the replacement fly-half missed a drop goal at the death that would have stolen the win.

The scorers:

For Pau:
Ratuvou, Bobo, Fumat
Cons: Marques 2
Pens: Marques 3
Drop Goal: Fajardo

For Agen:
Tilsley, Mchedlidze 2, Darbo
Con: Francis
Pens: Francis 2, Guemes
Yellow Card: Ratuyanirawa

Pau: 15 Damien Traille, 14 Sereli Bobo, 13 Julien Fumat, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Mosese Ratuvou, 10 Brandon Fajardo, 9 Samuel Marques, 8 Patrick Butler, 7 Jean Bouilhou, 6 Loic Bernad, 5 Daniel Ramsay, 4 Julien Pierre, 3 Sylvain Charlet, 2 Thomas Bianchin, 1 Jeremy Hurou. 
Replacements: 16 Quentin Lespiaucq, 17 Julien Jacquot, 18 Claude Dry, 19 Josefa Domolailai, 20 Sean Dougall, 21 Thibault Daubagna, 22 Charly Malie, 23 Chris King.

Agen: 15 Benoit Sicart, 14 Tamaz Mchedlidze, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Eroni Narumasa, 11 George Tilsley, 10 Burton Francis, 9 Alexis Balès, 8 Marc Giraud, 7 Antoine Erbani, 6 Luke Hamilton, 5 William Demotte, 4 Apisalome Ratuniyarawa, 3 Arthur Joly, 2 Mike Tadjer, 1 Viliamu Afatia. 
Replacements: 16 Marc Barthomeuf, 17 David Ryan, 18 Corentin Braendlin, 19 Remi Vaquin, 20 Clement Darbo, 21 Bautista Guemes, 22 Ilaitia Tagotago, 23 Nicolas Chocou.

Referee: Salem Attalah

Brive 16-3 Bordeaux-Bègles
Stade Amédée Domenech, Brive

Brive made it three wins in a row at home to Bordeaux-Bègles and moved into the play-off places with a convincing victory to maintain their unbeaten home record.

A tight first half saw both teams struggle to impose themselves, with a solitary penalty from Gaëtan Germain providing the only points as Brive led 3-0 at the break.

He doubled that advantage early in the second half, before Lionel Beauxis got Bordeaux on the board 15 minutes into the half.

Brive responded immediately with the crucial try, Matthieu Ugalde putting in an inch-perfect cross-kick for Guillaume Namy to cross.

Germain converted and added another penalty with quarter of an hour remaining as Brive comfortably saw out the game.

The scorers:

For Brive:
Con: Germain
Pens: Germain 3

For Bordeaux-Bègles:
Pen: Beauxis

Brive: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Alfi Mafi, 13 Arnaud Mignardi, 12 Sevanaia Galala, 11 Guillaume Namy, 10 Matthieu Ugalde, 9 Teddy Iribaren, 8 Sisa Koyamaibole, 7 Dominiko Waqaniburotu, 6 Petrus Hauman, 5 Peet Marais, 4 Johan Snyman, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Guillaume Ribes, 1 Lucas Pointud. 
Replacements: 16 Francois Da Ros, 17 Karlen Asieshvili, 18 Wilhem Steenkamp, 19 Arnaud Mela, 20 Fabien Sanconnie, 21 Jean baptiste Pejoine, 22 Thomas Laranjeira, 23 Damien Jourdain.

Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Jean Marcellin Buttin 14 Metuisela Talebula, 13 Felix le Bourhis, 12 Manu Ahotaeiloa, 11 Blair Connor, 10 Lionel Beauxis, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Loann Goujon, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Peter Saili, 5 Jandre Marais, 4 Julien Ledevedec, 3 Albert Toetu, 2 Clement Maynadier, 1 Sebastien Taofifenua. 
Replacements: 16 Benat Auzqui, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Adam Jaulhac, 19 Louis Madaule, 20 Baptiste Serin, 21 Charles Brousse, 22 Sofiane Guitoune, 23 Jean Batiste Poux.

Referee: Adrien Descottes