TMO sticks to his guns over penalty try call

Date published: March 14 2016

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Marius_Jonker

Television Match Offical Marius Jonker has defended his decision to award a penalty try to the Sharks in their 18-13 victory over the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday.

The Sharks were trailing 10-3 at the time of the incident, which involved the Stormers flank Siya Kolisi placing his foot between the ball and the try-line as Sharks scrum-half Cobus Reinach reached out to dot down in the 46th minute.

Kolisi was also shown a yellow card for his transgression.

Referee Mike Fraser posed the question to Jonker whether or not Kolisi had kicked the ball out of Reinach's hand and subsequently prevented a try from being scored.

Speaking to Netwerk24, Jonker said that the relevance of the intention of the player and what the law states are unrelated.

"The rule does not deal with what a player’s intention was," Jonker explained.

"If his foot did not make contact with the ball, then a try would in all likelihood have been scored.

"You also can’t award a penalty try if the incident does not warrant a yellow card."

COMMENTS