Tigers well beaten by Barbarians

Date published: November 5 2014

The Barbarians ran in an impressive nine tries against Leicester as they won 59-26 at Welford Road in a slick performance on Tuesday.

The Barbarians ran in an impressive nine tries against Leicester as they won 59-26 at Welford Road in a slick, high class performance on Tuesday.

Despite only leading 21-19 at half-time, the Baa-baas clicked into gear after the break as six more scores had the Tigers struggling to keep pace.

South Africa centre Juan de Jongh opened the account for the visitors before prop Thomas du Toit and New Zealand’s Francis Saili crossed.

And then following the turnaround futher scores from flanker Heinrich Brussow, wing Tom English, blindside Michael Rhodes, centre De Jongh and full-back Tevita Li were capped off by veteran Jacques Botes’ effort on his farewell to rugby.

In response, Leicester’s supporters were treated to tries from full-back Freddie Burns, flanker Jamie Gibson, centre Christian Loamanu and back-row Paul Grant on a difficult night at Welford Road.

The scorers:

For Leicester:
Tries: Burns, Gibson, Loamanu, Grant
Con: Williams 2, Grant

For Barbarians:
Tries: De Jongh 2, Du Toit, Saili, Brussow, English, Rhodes, Li, Botes
Con: Boshoff 5, Saili, Botes

Leicester Tigers: 15 Freddie Burns, 14 Miles Benjamin, 13 Christian Loamanu, 12 Anthony Allen, 11 Vereniki Goneva, 10 Owen Williams, 9 David Mele, 8 Jordan Crane (c). 7 Jamie Gibson, 6 Laurence Pearce, 5 Sebastian De Chaves, 4 Harry Wells, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Jake Farnworth, 1 Michele Rizzo.
Replacements: 16 George Nairn, 17 Tom Bristow, 18 Tiziano Pasquali, 19 Charlie Beckett, 20 Paul Grant, 21 George Tresidder, 22 Tommy Bell, 23 Adam Thompstone.

Barbarians: 15 Tevita Li, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Jacques Botes, 7 Heinrich Brussow, 6 Michael Rhodes, 5 Al Kellock (c), 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Thomas Du Toit, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Lourens Adriaanse.
Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Jason Marshall, 18 Matt Stevens, 19 Angus Ta’avao, 20 Steven Luatua, 21 Matt Todd, 22 Adam Thomson, 23 Sarel Pretorius, 24 Sean Duke, 25 Tom English.