Tigers progress to Anglo-Welsh Cup final

Date published: March 12 2017

Leicester Tigers booked their place in the Anglo-Welsh Cup final after they overcame Saracens at Allianz Park, winning 32-10 on Saturday.

Tries from full-back George Worth, blindside flanker Luke Hamilton, loosehead prop Ellis Genge and fly-half Freddie Burns saw them to victory.

In reply Saracens could only record unconverted tries from scrum-half Henry Taylor and full-back Matt Gallagher as they went crashing out.

Leicester will face either Exeter Chiefs or Harlequins, who play today, in the final that will take place at the Twickenham Stoop next Sunday.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Tries: Taylor, Gallagher

For Leicester:
Tries: Worth, Hamilton, Genge, Burns
Cons: Burns 3
Pens: Burns 2

Saracens: 15 Matt Gallagher, 14 Mike Ellery, 13 Tim Streather (c), 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Nathan Earle, 10 Tom Whiteley, 9 Henry Taylor, 8 Samu Vunisa, 7 Joel Conlon, 6 Kelly Brown, 5 Mark Flanagan, 4 Fa’atiga Lemalu, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Jared Saunders, 1 Richard Barrington
Replacements: 16 Tom Lindsay, 17 Hayden Stringer, 18 Titi Lamositele, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Neil De Kock, 22 Alex Lozowski, 23 George Perkins

Leicester Tigers: 15 George Worth, 14 Tom Brady, 13 Mathew Tait (c), 12 Jack Roberts, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Harry Thacker, 6 Luke Hamilton, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Harry Wells, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Ellis Genge
Replacements: 16 Tom Croft, 17 Michele Rizzo, 18 Greg Bateman, 19 Joe Maksymiw, 20 Will Owen, 21 Ben White, 22 Owen Williams, 23 Charlie Thacker

Referee: Luke Pearce (England)
Assistant Referees: Gregory M Garner (England), Jonathan Healy (England)
TMO: Keith Lewis (England)