Three more signings for the Kings

Date published: January 26 2016

The Kings have confirmed three more player signings ahead of their return to Super Rugby in 2016.

Chief Operating Officer, Charl Crous confirmed the signing of the young up-and-coming lock, Phillip du Preez, versatile back line player, Jurgen Visser and hooker, Martin Bezuidenhout.

Crous also confirmed that Sharks player, Jaco van Tonder, had joined the team on trial this week. Du Preez, who recently returned form France wehre he played for Bayonne, has been described as one of the best upcoming line-out jumpers.

The young lock started his professional rugby career playing for the Lions in the U18 Craven Week, before making the South Africa Schools team. He then joined the Bulls in the U19 provincial competition before moving to the Cheetahs the following year to represent them in the U21 competition. He made his Vodacom Cup debut for the Cheetahs in 2014.

Visser played eight games for Western Province before relocating to Pretoria, where he played 40 matches for the Bulls in Currie Cup and 31 matches for the Pretoria-based side in Super Rugby.

Visser is known for his versatility, and although he mostly occupies the full-back position, he has also played at wing and scrum-half.
Bezuidenhout, who played with Griquas in the Vodacom Cup and Currie Cup competitions last year, also featured for the Stormers and the Lions in Super Rugby.

Van Tonder is also a versatile back line player. He moved from the George-based SWD Eagles, where he played U16 Grant Khomo and U18 Craven week competitions, then headed to Kwazulu Natal, where he joined the Sharks. He made his bow for the senior team in the 2012 Vodacom Cup.

Kings squad to date:


Jurgen Visser, 26
Malcolm Jaer, 20
Siyanda Grey ,26 
JP du Plessis, 24
Lukhanyo Am, 22
Stefan Watermeyer, 27
Luzuko Vulindlu, 28  
Elgar Watts, 30
Louis Fouche, 25
Shane Gates, 23
James Hall, 19
Kevin Luiters, 23
Leighton Eksteen,21 


Aidon Davis, 21
Chris Cloete, 24
Cyril-John Velleman, 20
Thembelani Bholi, 25
Stefan Willemse, 23
Sipato Junior Pokomela, 19
Jacques (Vleis) Engelbrecht, 30
Cornell Hess, 26
John-Charles (JC) Astle, 25
Phillip du Plessis, 22
Schalk Oelofse, 27
Steven Sykes, 31
Tazz Fuzani, 25
Tyler Paul, 20
Jacobie Adriaanse, 30
Schalk Ferreira, 31
Tom Botha, 25
Edgar Marutlulle, 27
Martin Ferreira, 26