Ten-try Gloucester maul Sharks

Date published: May 8 2011


Gloucester ran in ten tries in their 68-17 walloping of the Sale Sharks at Kingsholm in the Aviva Premiership on Saturday.

Gloucester ran in ten tries in their 68-17 walloping of the Sale Sharks in the Aviva Premiership on Saturday.

Charlie Sharples claimed a hat-trick as Gloucester destroyed sorry Sale at Kingsholm.

It means the West Country outfit can gear up for their play-off semi-final at Saracens in style.

The rampant Cherry and Whites led when Rory Lawson went over but Sale hit back with a penalty from departing fly-half Charlie Hodgson.

Yet Scott Lawson soon went over from close range for a try which Nicky Robinson converted.

Henry Trinder then went over for a try which Robinson converted to make it 19-3 at the interval and a fourth score arrived soon after the break when Sharples raced over.

Moments later Sharples was over again following clever work from Robinson, who kicked both conversions to leave Sale 33-3 adrift.

Robinson gave the visitors some respite when his stray pass was intercepted by Sale hooker Neil Briggs, who went over for a try which Hodgson converted.

Yet Trinder then went over for a try which Robinson converted before Sharples raced from halfway to complete his hat-trick and Robinson added the extras.

Sale collected a consolation try from Neil McMillan which Hodgson converted, but two late tries from James Simpson-Daniel and Dave Lewis – both converted by Tim Taylor – sealed the rout.

The scorers:

For Gloucester:
Tries: R Lawson, S Lawson, Trinder 2, Sharples 3, Robinson, Simpson-Daniel 2
Cons: Robinson 7, Taylor 2

For Sale:
Tries: Koyamaibole, Briggs
Cons: Hodgson 2
Pens: Hodgson

The teams:

Gloucester: 15 Tom Voyce, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Henry Trinder, 12 Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, 11 James Simpson-Daniel, 10 Nicky Robinson, 9 Rory Lawson, 8 Luke Narraway (capt), 7 Akapusi Qera, 6 Alasdair Strokosch, 5 Alex Brown, 4 Dave Attwood, 3 Paul Doran-Jones, 2 Scott Lawson, 1 Nick Wood.
Replacements: 16 Darren Dawidiuk, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Rupert Harden, 19 Jim Hamilton, 20 Brett Deacon, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 Tim Taylor, 23 Lesley Vainikolo.

Sale: 15 Nick Macleod, 14 Iain Thornley, 13 Chris Bell, 12 Kyle Tonetti, 11 Will Addison, 10 Charlie Hodgson (capt), 9. Dwayne Peel, 8 Sisaro Koyamaibole. 7 Carl Fearns, 6 James Gaskell, 5 Chris Jones, 4 Nic Rouse, 3 Simon McIntyre, 2 Neil Briggs, 1 Eifion Roberts.
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 Lee Imiolek, 18 Ben Roberts, 19 Henry Thomas, 20 Sean Cox, 21 Neil McMillan, 22 Chris Leck, 23 Rob Miller.