Tasman snatch draw in Albany

Date published: October 12 2016

Tasman managed to claim a share of the spoils as they drew 27-27 with North Harbour in a Mitre 10 Cup clash in Albany on Wednesday.

Tasman had to dig deep for the draw and a Marty Banks conversion in the 76th minute, after Shannon Frizell crossed the line, secured them this result.

Earlier, the sides were level at 13-13 at half-time, after David Havili and Matt McGahan had scored converted tries for their respective sides.

Tasman were dealt a blow early in the second half when Havili received a yellow card for punching and North Harbour added their second try when Matt Vaega crossed the whitewash.

Tasman struck back via a Andrew Makalio try in the 62nd minute – which drew the score level at 20-20 – but they suffered another setback five minutes later when Ethan Blackadder was also sent to the sin bin for a professional foul at the breakdown.

Once again, North Harbour made their numerical advantage count when Adrian Smith crossed for their third try shortly afterwards and when Bryn Gatland added the extras they held the upper-hand with seven-point lead inside the final 10 minutes.

The visitors didn't surrender, however, and Frizell's late try set up Banks for the crucial place-kick.

Tasman, Counties, Auckland, Taranaki and Waikato are locked in a five-way battle to reach the semi-finals ahead of the last round of matches which starts on Thursday when Taranaki host Auckland.

Counties face table-toppers Canterbury on Saturday with Waikato and Tasman doing battle with Wellington and Southland on Saturday and Sunday respectively.

The scorers:

For North Harbour:
McGahan, Vaega, Smith
Cons: Gatland 3
Pens: Gatland 2

For Tasman:
Havili, Makalio, Frizell
Cons: Banks 3
Pens: Banks 2
Yellow Card: Fonotia, Blackadder

North Harbour: 15 Matt McGahan, 14 Matt Duffie, 13 Matt Vaega, 12 Michael Little, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Bryn Gatland, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Murphy Taramai, 7 Connor Collett, 6 Glenn Preston, 5 Chris Vui (c), 4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3 Sione Mafileo, 2 Adrian Smith, 1 Karl Tu'inukuafe
Replacements: 16 Kalem Chan-Boon, 17 Hani Fatai, 18 Jethro Felemi, 19 Hapakuki Moala-Liava’a, 20 Kane Jacobson, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Daniel Hilton-Jones, 23 Afa Fa’atau

Tasman: 15 Mitchell Hunt, 14 Viliami Lolohea, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 David Havili, 11 James Lowe, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Finlay Christie, 8 Shannon Frizell, 7 Tevita Koloamatangi, 6 Ethan Blackadder, 5 Alex Ainley (c), 4 Quinten Strange, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Andrew Makalio, 1 Tim Perry
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Kane Hames, 18 Siua Halanukonuka, 19 Te Ariki Ben-Nicholas, 20 Braden Stewart, 21 Billy Guyton, 22 Kieron Fonotia, 23 Caleb Makene

Referee: Kane McBride