Tasman return to their winning ways

Date published: September 17 2014

Tasman bounced back from last week's loss to Taranaki with a 38-14 win against Southland in Invercargill on Wednesday.

Tasman bounced back from last week's loss to Taranaki with a comprehensive 38-14 win against Southland in Invercargill on Wednesday.

The Makos were full value for their victory and it was a memorable match for their scrum-half, Jimmy Cowan, who scored one of the visitors' five tries in his first encounter against his former team.

Cowan's try was the second of the match, after Tasman had taken an early lead via a Marty Banks penalty and a Pete Samu five-pointer.

Banks got the visitors' third try midway through the first half, before Dillan Halaholo crossed over for Tasman's first try on the half-hour mark.

Lima Sopoaga added the extras, which meant the Makos held a 24-7 lead at half-time.

Tasman continued to dominate after the interval, with James Lowe and replacement back David Havili also scoring converted tries.

That secured them the win but, despite the score, the home side didn't surrender and were rewarded with consolation try scored by Billy Fukofuka close to the end.

The scorers:

For Southland:
Tries: Halaholo, Fukofuka
Cons: Sopoaga 2

For Tasman:
Tries: Samu, Cowan, Banks, Lowe, Havili
Cons: Banks 5
Pen: Banks

Southland: 15 Junior Ngaluafe, 14 Lolohea Loco, 13 Mark Jackman, 12 Willis Halaholo, 11 Keanu Kahukura, 0 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Tayler Adams, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 Tim Boys, 6 John Hardie, 5 Michael Stewart, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Tony Keresoma, 2 Dillan Halaholo, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 JP Koen, 18 Michael Fatialofa, 19 Bill Fukofuka, 20 Scott Eade, 21 Jamie Verran, 22 Cardiff Vaega.

Tasman: 15 Robbie Malneek, 14 Mitch Scott, 13 Bryce Heem, 12 Kieron Fonotia, 11 James Lowe, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Liam Squire, 7 Shane Christie (c), 6 Pete Samu, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Tim Perry.
Replacements: 16 Jesse MacDonald, 17 Reuben Northover, 18 Tevita Cavubati, 19 Vernon Fredricks, 20 Billy Guyton, 21 Mike Wells, 22 David Havili

Referee: Mike Fraser