Tasman fell Auckland in Nelson

Date published: August 17 2011

Tasman caused a sizeable upset in the ITM Cup on Tuesday as they edged top tier outfit Auckland 30-28 at Trafalgar Park in Nelson.

Tasman caused a sizeable upset in the ITM Cup on Tuesday as they defeated top tier side Auckland 30-28 in Nelson.

Auckland have now played two national provincial matches in Nelson and have lost them both.

However, the Makos did come close to claiming only a draw at Trafalgar Park after replacement Gareth Anscombe missed his late conversion.

What makes this result all the more surprising is that Auckland, who had the opportunity to move top of the Premiership in this game, were defeated by the bottom side in the Championship.

Auckland's tries came through Brent Ward, Teddy Stanaway and Hadleigh Parkes while the Makos' 30 points were notched thanks to James Marshall, Shane Christie and Andrew Goodman.

The scorers:

For Tasman:
Tries: Marshall, Christie, Goodman
Cons: Goodman 3
Pen: Goodman 3

For Auckland:
Tries: Ward, Stanaway, Parkes
Cons: Francis 2
Pens: Francis, Anscombe 2

Tasman: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Robbie Malneek, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Andrew Goodman (c), 11 Lucky Mulipola, 10 James Marshall, 9 Steve Alfeld, 8 Mark Bright, 7 Shane Christie, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Joe Wheeler, 4 Pablo Huete, 3 Sam Prattley, 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Fai Mika.
Replacements: 16 Francis Smith, 17 Craig Moore, 18 Tevita Koloamatangi, 19 Vernon Fredericks, 20 Shawn Begg, 21 Jack Umaga, 22 Mitchell Scott, 23 Hamish Cochrane.

Auckland: 15 Brent Ward, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Hadleigh Parkes, 12 Teddy Stanaway, 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Piers Francis, 9 Toby Morland, 8 Chris Lowrey, 7 Sean Polwart, 6 Peter Saili, 5 Steven Luatua, 4 Josh Townsend, 3 Tevita Mailau, 2 Ash Dixon, 1 Tom McCartney (c).
Replacements: 16 Pauliasi Manu, 17 Charlie Faumuina, 18 Liaki Moli, 19 Sam Henwood, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Gareth Anscombe, 22 Francis Saili, 23 Angus Ta'avao.