Taranaki thrash Northland

Date published: September 6 2015


Defending champions Taranaki picked up their second win in four days with a seven-try thrashing of Northland on Sunday.

Taranaki captain Charlie Ngatai grabbed two tries as his side continued their resurgence in the ITM Cup after failing to pick up a win in their first three matches.

Winger Cody Rei converted six of his side's seven tries, finishing with 21 points overall, as Taranaki move up the table.

Multiple collapsed scrums from Northland ended in a penalty try for the visitors before Toa Halafihi powered his way over from close range. 

Ngatai grabbed his first try with an intercept score to put Taranaki ahead 21-0 by half-time.

Rei's penalty extended the lead after the break before Daniel Hawkins scored Northland's only try after bursting through a gap in the defence.

Soon after Ngatai scored his second try to also secure the bonus point for Taranaki, before Seta Tamanivalu and a double from Latu Vaeno wrapped up a big win.

The scorers:

For Northland:

Tries: Hawkins

Cons: Hawkins

For Taranaki:

Tries: Penalty Try, Halafihi, Ngatai 2, Tamanivalu, Vaeno 2

Cons: Rei 6

Pens: Rei

Northland: 15 Matt Wright, 14 Jordan Hyland, 13 Warren Dunn, 12 Troy Gilbert, 11 Filipo Nakosi, 10 Daniel Hawkins, 9 Sam Nock, 8 Dan Pryor, 7 Kara Pryor, 6 Dan O'Rourke, 5 Sean Sweetman, 4 Joshua Goodhue, 3 Namatahi Waa, 2 Matt Moulds, 1 Ross Wright.

Replacements: 16 Jordan Olsen, 17 Howard Silioto, 18 Dominic Robertson-McCoy, 19 Mike Stolberg, 20 Taniela Manu, 21 Mac Sykes, 22 Dave Thomas, 23 Jone Macilai-Tori.

Taranaki: 15 Kurt Baker, 14 Cody Rei, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Charlie Ngatai (c), 11 Latu Vaeno, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Iopu Iopu-Aso, 7 Berny Hall, 6 Toa Halafihi, 5 Blade Thomson, 4 Mitchell Brown, 3 Angus Taavao-Matau, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Mitchell Graham
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Reuben O’Neill, 18 Ryan Cocker, 19 Riki Hoeata, 20 Mitch Crosswell, 21 Kylem O'Donnell, 22 Sean Wainui, 23 Jackson Ormond