Taranaki surge into top four

Date published: October 9 2016

Taranaki moved into the top four of the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership after crushing Wellington 54-31 on Sunday.

The visitors raced to a 20-3 half-time lead from Iopu Iopu-Aso and the first of three from Stephen Perofeta. Toa Halafihi extended the lead to 27-3 after the break before Marty McKenzie added another penalty to make it 30-3 after 50 minutes.

Seta Tamanivalu and Perofeta continued the massacre before Alex Fidow got one back for the hosts. Wellington scored their second through Joe Hill but not before Jackson Ormond got his name on the scoresheet for a 47-17 lead with 13 minutes left to play.

Perofeta completed his hat-trick eight minutes later but Wellington finsished with a flurry after James Blackwell and Mark Reddish went over in the final three minutes of the game.

The scorers:

For Wellington
Alex Fidow, Joe Hill, James Blackwell, Mark Reddish
Cons: Garden-Bachop 4
Pens: Garden-Bachop

For Taranaki
Tries: Iopu Iopu-Aso, Toa Halafihi, Seta Tamanivalu, Jackson Ormond, Stephen Perofeta 3 
Cons: McKenzie 4, Perofeta 
Pens: McKenzie 3 

Wellington: 15 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 14 Joe Hill, 13 Wes Goosen, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Jason Woodward, 10 Pakai Turia, 9 Sheridan Rangihuna, 8 Hoani Matenga, 7 Galu Taufale, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Mark Reddish, 4 Isaia Walker Leawere, 3 Joe Apikotoa, 2 Asafo Aumua, 1 Reggie Goodes 
Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Ha'amea Ahio, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 James Blackwell, 20 Greg Foe, 21 Tomasi Palu, 22 Mike Lealava'a, 23 Lester Maulolo

Taranaki: 15 Stephen Perofeta, 14 Declan O'Donnell, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Johnny Faauli, 11 Latu Vaeno, 10 Marty McKenzie,9 Kylem O'Donnell, 8 Toa Halafihi, 7 Mitchell Crosswell (c), 6 Iopu Iopu-Aso, 5 Leighton Price, 4 Ben Matwijow, 3 Ryan Cocker, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Mitchell Graham
Replacements: 16 Harry Jones, 17 Jared Proffit, 18 Reuben O'Neill, 19 Mitchell Brown, 20 Berny Hall, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Sean Wainui, 23 Jackson Ormond