Tamura leads Sunwolves in Durban

Date published: July 13 2016


Sunwolves boss Mark Hammett has made three changes to his starting XV for the side’s final game of the Super Rugby season against the Sharks.

Yu Tamura will captain the side in the absence of Harumichi Tatekawa and Shota Horie, with Mifiposeti Paea coming in at inside centre.

Kaito Shigeno and Yuki Yatomi swap again at scrum-half with Shigeno getting the nod, while the only change in the pack sees Faatiga Lemalu come into the second row to partner Hitoshi Ono.

Two new faces amongst the replacements from last week’s game with the Bulls are Ryohei Yamanaka and Kentaro Kodama.

Sunwolves: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Hajime Yamashita, 13 Derek Carpenter, 12 Mifiposeti Paea, 11 Yasutaka Sasakura, 10 Yu Tamura (c), 9 Kaito Shigeno, 8 Edward Quirk, 7 Taiyo Ando, 6 Liaki Moli, 5 Faatiga Lemalu, 4 Hitoshi Ono, 3 Shinnosuke Kakinaga, 2 Takeshi Kizu, 1 Keita Inagaki
Replacements: 16 Futoshi Mori, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Takuma Asahara, 19 Naohiro Kotaki, 20 Yoshiya Hosoda, 21 Yuki Yatomi, 22 Ryohei Yamanaka, 23 Kentaro Kodama

Date: Friday, July 15
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick off: 19:00 local (17:00 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Archie Sehlako (South Africa)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)