Tamanivalu, Messam to miss quarter-finals

Date published: July 17 2016

The Chiefs have named their 25 man squad that will leave for Cape Town on Monday morning to play the Stormers in the quarter-finals.

The Chiefs play the Cape Town franchise after finishing with 51 points meaning they are the fifth seed. 

The men from Waikato will be without star outside-centre Seta Tamanivalu after he suffered an MCL injury against the Highlanders in round 17. But he will be constantly monitored for the upcoming weeks assuming the Chiefs make it into the next round. 

Chiefs flanker Liam Messam will also miss the quarter-finals due to not being eligible after not playing four games for the side. 

According to Stuff SANZAAR media and communications manager Greg Thomas said that the Chiefs are not in dire need of the player and that their application has been denied.

“There’s been a lot of deliberation over this,” said Thomas.

“Special dispensation hasn’t been granted because SANZAAR are satisfied that the Chiefs can field a normal, full-strength side of 23 players for the following match.”

Other players that weren't considered were Michael Leitch, Charlie Ngatai, Andrew Horrell and Augustine Pulu.


Forwards: Kane Hames, Mitchell Graham, Atu Moli, Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, Siate Tokolahi, Hika Elliot, Nathan Harris, Dominic Bird, Brodie Retallick, Lachlan Boshier, Tom Sanders, Sam Cane, Taleni Seu, Liam Messam

Backs: Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Brad Weber, Aaron Cruden, James Lowe, Damian McKenzie, Anton Lienert-Brown, Stephen Donald, Sam McNicol, Sam Vaka, Toni Pulu, Shaun Stevenson