Sydney title for Canada Women

Date published: February 4 2017

Canada’s Women’s team won their third World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series cup title after edging USA in the Sydney Sevens Cup final.

Canada entered the Sydney tournament in sixth place in the standings after one event, but after earning 20 points with their first place finish, they jump ahead of Fiji, England and Russia into third. New Zealand stay atop the standings after taking the bronze medal in Sydney, while Australia remain in second place just two points up on Canada after finishing fourth.

Canada began day two with a 26-5 win over Russia in the cup quarter-finals then followed that up with a 12-7 victory over host Australia before beating USA 21-17. The next stop in the series is the Las Vegas Sevens in early March.

“I’m really happy for the girls to rebound after our first tournament in Dubai. We just showed a lot of resolve coming back, we didn’t have a good finish to day one but they really focused,” said head coach John Tait.

“Jen Kish and Britt Benn played a great game in the contact area and retained a lot of ball for us and won a lot of ball. Some of the younger players like Hannah Darling really stepped up and showed she can play at this level so I was pretty happy with that.”

Sydney Sevens
Day 2 results

Cup quarter-finals

New Zealand 24-5 France
Ireland 5-17 USA
Australia 17-5 Fiji
Russia 5-26 Canada

Challenge Trophy semi-finals

England 29-17 Papua New Guinea
Spain 7-10 Brazil

5th place semi-finals

France 21-19 Ireland
Fiji 33-19 Russia

Cup semi-finals

New Zealand 12-19 USA
Australia 7-12 Canada

11th place play-off

Papua New Guinea 17-31 Spain

Challenge Trophy final

England 12-17 Brazil

7th place play-off

Ireland 12-17 Russia

5th place play-off

France 12-31 Fiji

3rd place play-off

New Zealand 19-0 Australia

Cup final

USA 17-21 Canada