Super Rugby set for debut champs

Date published: June 29 2015

A new name will be added to the Super Rugby trophy following Saturday's final between the Hurricanes and Highlanders.

Seven different teams have won the competition since SANZAR era started with Super 12 in 1996 but either Hurricanes or Highlanders will etch their name on the trophy for the very first time. 

Next weekend will also represent the first all-New Zealand Super Rugby Final since the Crusaders prevailed over the Hurricanes 19-12 in 2006. It is the fifth all-Kiwi final in the competition's 20-year history with a New Zealand team to be champions for the 13th time.

The first final hosted in Wellington will be the second final appearance for both teams with the Highlanders having lost the 1999 decider at home, also to the Crusaders.

The losers of this year's final will become the only New Zealand side without at least one Super Rugby title. 

The 'Canes, who were only beaten twice throughout the regular season on their way to the NZ Conference title, have earned the right to host the decider at Westpac Stadium after winning their sold-out semi-final 29-9 against the Brumbies in Wellington.

The Highlanders will challenge them following a clinical 35-17 victory over the defending champion Waratahs in Sydney.

Super Rugby Final
Hurricanes v Highlanders 
Date: Saturday 4 July 2015
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand
Kick-off: 19:35 local (17:35 AEST, 09:35 SAST, 07:35 GMT)

Referee appointments for the Final will be announced early in the week.

Should any Super Rugby Finals Series match end with the scores level, the following will apply until a winner is determined:

a) Extra time played in two periods of 10 minutes
b) Sudden death extra time in a period of up to 10 minutes
c) A kicking competition featuring five players from each team

Previous All-New Zealand Super Rugby Finals:

2006: Crusaders 19-12 Hurricanes, in Christchurch
2003: Blues 21-17 Crusaders, in Auckland
1999: Crusaders 24-19 Highlanders, in Dunedin
1998: Crusaders 20-13 Blues, in Auckland