Stormers start Van Aswegan

Date published: April 10 2013

The Stormers have named Gary van Aswegan at fly-half for their Super Rugby showdown with the Sharks at Newlands on Saturday.

The Stormers have named youngster Gary van Aswegan at fly-half for their Super Rugby clash with the Sharks at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday.

Van Aswegen will start in place of Elton Jantjies (knee) in one of two injury-enforced changes to the Stormers team from last week – the other will see Damian de Allende in the fourteen jersey.

Joe Pietersen has been moved back to full-back to cover for the injured Jaco Taute (out for the season with an ACL injury), with De Allende, in turn, taking over from Pietersen on the right wing.

The Stormers pack is unchanged from the team that started against the Cheetahs, but there are new backline faces on the bench in Kurt Coleman and Cheslin Kolbe, the latter will join fellow Vodacom Cup star, Gerbrandt Grobler, as potential debutants this week.

Kolbe, an SA Sevens representative, has been in superb form at full-back for the Western Province team in recent weeks and is an exciting talent, whilst Coleman, the fly-half reserve to Van Aswegen this weekend, has already played five Super Rugby times for the Stormers.

“We are under no illusions that it is a tough task. The Sharks are an incredibly good team,” said head coach Allister Coetzee.

“It's vital that we get our campaign back on course with a positive result from the match this weekend – we need to get the points against the Sharks.

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Damian de Allende, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (capt), 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Gerbrandt Grobler, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Cheslin Kolbe.

Date: Saturday, April 13
Kick-off: 17:05 local (16:05 BST, 15:05 GMT)
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman (South Africa), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)