Stormers name pre-season squad

Date published: January 11 2016

Stormers head coach Robbie Fleck has named a 38-man training squad that will be travelling to Wilderness for a Super Rugby pre-season camp.

The squad will head to Wilderness on Tuesday, January 12 and return to Cape Town on Saturday, January 16.

The camp will see the squad begin preparations in earnest for the new Super Rugby season, and Fleck is looking forward to building on the work the team have already put in over the off-season.

"Traditionally we have been to Hermanus which has been really good for us, but we decided to visit Wilderness and George this year for a change of environment," he told the Stormers website.

"The players worked incredibly hard over November and December and had a good break, so we are looking forward to picking up where we left off last year in terms of the way we want to play and our conditioning.

"The purpose of the camp is to build on our philosphy of our playing style and our culture," added Fleck.

Players not attending the camp due to commitments with other teams are Schalk Burger (Suntory Sungoliath), Eben Etzebeth (NTT-Docomo Red Hurricanes), Juan de Jongh (Springbok Sevens), Cheslin Kolbe (Springbok Sevens) and Cornal Hendricks (Springbok Sevens).

Stormers training camp squad: Nizaam Carr, Kurt Coleman, Damian de Allende, Jan de Klerk, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Robert du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Ryno Eksteen, Rynhardt Elstadt, Nic Groom, JC Janse van Rensberg, Huw Jones, Oli Kebble, Jean Kleyn, Vincent Koch, Siya Kolisi, Johnny Kotze, Dillyn Leyds, Frans Malherbe, Godlen Masimla, Bongi Mbonambi, Khanyo Ngcukana, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Scarra Ntubeni, Justin Phillips, Louis Schreuder, JD Schickerling, Chad Solomon, JP Smith, Jaco Taute, Brandon Thompson, Jurie van Vuuren, Kobus van Wyk, Alistair Vermaak, Jano Vermaak, Jacques Vermeulen, Michael Willemse, Leolin Zas.