Steamers off the mark

Date published: August 30 2012

BoP bounced back from their opening round ITM Cup loss with a 31-19 win over Otago at Rotorua International Stadium on Thursday.

Bay of Plenty bounced back from their opening round loss in the ITM Cup with a 31-19 win over Otago at Rotorua International Stadium on Thursday.

The scores were tied 12-12 at half-time, as Nick McCashin and Hayden Parker traded penalties between them in a lacklustre 40 minutes.

However the hosts outscored their visitors three tries to one in the last half hour of the game, with loosehead prop Tristan Moran bagging a brace and number eight Luke Braid crashing over for another.

Replacement Tony Ensor scored a consolation try for Otago late in the match.

The scorers:

For Bay of Plenty:
Tries: Moran 2, Braid
Cons: McCashin 2
Pens: McCashin 4

For Otago:
Try: Ensor
Con: Parker
Pens: Parker 4

Bay of Plenty: 15 Kendrick Lynn, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Mafi Kefu, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Lance MacDonald, 10 Chris Noakes/Nick McCashin, 9 Jamie Nutbrown (c), 8 Luke Braid, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Tanerau Latimer, 5 Culum Retallick, 4 Leon Power, 3 Mike Kainga, 2 Dan Perrin, 1 Tristan Moran.
Replacements: 16 John Pareanga, 17 Greg Pleasants-Tate, 18 Keepa Mewett, 19 Carl Axtens, 20 Lewis Hancock, 21 Nick McCashin/Simon Rolleston, 22 Jack Wilson.

Otago: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Jayden Spence, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Glenn Dickson, 11 Buxton Popoali'i, 10 Hayden Parker, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Hugh Blake, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Rob Verbakel, 4 Paul Grant (captain), 3 Aki Seiuli, 2 Sam Anderson-Heather, 1 Tama Tuirirangi.
Replacements: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Shota Horie, 18 Tom Franklin, 19 TJ Ioane, 20 Brad Weber, 21 Peter Breen, 22 Tony Ensor.

Referee: Shaun Elliott