Stade Français clinch much-needed win

Date published: February 20 2016

France centre Jonathan Danty was amongst the scorers for Stade Français in their 32-17 win over Brive in the Top 14 on Friday.

The defending champions climbed up the table as a result to tenth place ahead of the rest of the weekend's fixtures, as Brive missed out on a chance to move into the top four.

The league's top points scorer, Gaetan Germain, and Stade's Morné Steyn traded early penalties before Germain struck three straight kicks to make the score 3-12 after half an hour.

A late strike from Steyn just before the break helped Stade close the gap however to just six points going into half-time.

Steyn struck again at the start of the second half to make it 9-12 before Brive winger Guillaume Namy produced the game's first try, stretching the visitors' advantage.

However a yellow card for Brive's Fabien Sanconnie gave Stade a lifeline and Djibril Camara crossed not long afterwards.

Jeremy Sinzelle's score shortly followed to put Stade ahead, then out to 22-17 with another Steyn penalty, and they never looked back.

Danty, who started France's game against Ireland the previous Saturday, came off the bench to round off a crucial for the hosts as they look to turn their domestic form around.

The scorers:

For Stade Français:
Tries: Camara, Sinzelle, Danty
Con: Plisson
Pens: Steyn 4, Plisson
Yellow Card: Taulafo

For Brive:
Try: Namy
Pens: Germain 4
Yellow Cards: Sanconnie, Namy

Stade Français: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Jeremy Sinzelle, 13 Waisea Nayacalevu Vuidravuwalu, 12 Paul Williams, 11 Djibril Camara, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Jono Ross, 7 Raphael Lakafia, 6 Antoine Burban, 5 Alexandre Flanquart, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Zak Taulafo
Replacements: 16 Laurent Panis, 17 Zurab Zhvania, 18 Gerhard Mostert, 19 Sergio Parisse, 20 Clement Daguin, 21 Jules Plisson, 22 Jonathan Danty, 23 Rabah Slimani

Brive: 15 Gaetan Germain, 14 Guillaume Namy, 13 Benjamin Petre, 12 Sevenaia Galala, 11 Alfi Mafi, 10 Nicolas Bezy, 9 Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 8 Fabien Sanconnie, 7 Dominiko Waqaniburotukula, 6 Poutasi Luafutu, 5 Arnaud Mela, 4 Johan Snyman, 3 Damien Jourdain, 2 Francois Da Ros, 1 Damien Lavergne
Replacements: 16 Thomas Acquier, 17 Karlen Asieshvili, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Said Hireche, 20 Teddy Iribaren, 21 Thomas Laranjeira, 22 Benito Masilevu, 23 Giorgi Jgenti

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz
Assistant Referees: Cédric Clave, Laurent Breil
TMO: Bernard Dal Maso