Stade clinch La Rochelle draw

Date published: April 10 2015

Jonathan Danty's converted try secured a 19-19 draw for Stade Français on the road at La Rochelle on Friday.

The inside centre's crucial intervention seven minutes from time meant that Stade returned to Paris with two points from a tough fixture.

Picking up a draw also meant that Stade Français returned to the top of the league table just above Clermont Auvergne on points difference, with their rivals set to play later this weekend against Oyonnax.

France fly-half Jules Plisson scored 14 points including the key conversion that ultimately tied the scores for the visiting side.

It was La Rochelle however who had the perfect start, scoring almost immediately from the kick-off as Fabien Fortassin fed centre Elliot Roudil for the game's first try.

Plisson and Fortassin exchanged penalties as La Rochelle maintained their seven-point advantage before the former Montauban, Racing Métro and Tarbes number ten missed two further penalties for the home side.

Plisson also suffered a miss before finding his range after Stade emerged on top at the scrum, with two quick penalties giving La Rochelle only a one-point lead at the interval.

A 50-metre penalty from Plisson put the visitors ahead for the first time not long after in a nervous second half from both sides.

Julien Audy took over the kicking duties to successfully put his team back into the lead at 13-12, with Plisson missing a kick to hit back.

Fortassin's drop goal and a penalty from Jules Le Bail looked to have then wrapped up the result for La Rochelle as Stade lost their grip on the contest, before Danty intervened.

Plisson converted under immense pressure from the charging La Rochelle runners, but the drama wasn't over as Le Bail lined up a long-range attempt but was unable to convert it for the win with time almost up.

The scorers:

For La Rochelle:
Tries: Roudil
Cons: Fortassin
Pens: Fortassin, Audy, Le Bail
Drop Goals: Fortassin 

For Stade Français:
Tries: Danty
Cons: Plisson
Pens: Plisson 4

La Rochelle: 15 Kini Murimurivalu, 14 Alofa Alofa, 13 Eliott Roudil, 12 Malietoa Hingano, 11 Sereli Bobo, 10 Fabien Fortassin, 9 Julien Audy, 8 Kevin Gourdon, 7 Loann Goujon, 6 Jason Eaton, 5 Jone Qovu, 4 Romana Graham, 3 Uini Atonio (c), 2 Hikairo Forbes, 1 Thomas Synaeghel
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Geledan, 17 Jordan Seneca, 18 Leandro Cedaro, 19 Romain Sazy, 20 Julien Berger, 21 Jules Le Bail, 22 Charles Bouldoire, 23 Lekso Kaulashvili

Stade Français: 15 Djibril Camara, 14 Jérémy Sinzelle, 13 Geoffrey Doumayrou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Julien Arias, 10 Jules Plisson, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Jono Ross, 6 Antoine Burban, 5 Alexandre Flanquart, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Davit Kubriashvili, 2 Laurent Sempéré, 1 Heinke van der Merwe
Replacements: 16 Rémi Bonfils, 17 Zurabi Zhvania, 18 Paul Gabrillagues, 19 Raphaël Lakafia, 20 Julien Tomas, 21 Morné Steyn, 22 Meyer Bosman, 23 Sofiane Chellat

Referee: Salem Attalah