Speight hearing set for Tuesday

Date published: June 21 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Brumbies_wing_Henry_Speight_looking_up

Henry Speight of the Brumbies will appear at a SANZAR Judicial Hearing after he received a red card for foul play during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

Speight is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (e) Dangerous Tackling and 10.4 (j) Lifting Tackle, in an incident that occurred in the 74th minute of the match between the Stormers and Brumbies at Newlands on Saturday.

The Judicial Officer for the hearing will be Robert Stelzner SC which will be held by video conference on Tuesday 23 June at 4:00pm AEST, 6:00pm NZST and 8:00am SAST.

Nature of Offence: Law 10.4 (e) Dangerous Tackling, Playing a player without the ball is dangerous play.

Law 10.4 (j) Lifting a player from the ground and dropping or driving that player into the ground whilst that player’s feet are still off the ground such that the player’s head and/or upper body come into contact with the ground is dangerous play.

The Brumbies face the Hurricanes in Saturday's first Super Rugby semi-final.

COMMENTS