Smith hat-trick sinks Stade Francais

Date published: April 20 2017

Castres were comprehensive winners in their rescheduled Top 14 clash on Wednesday, finishing 33-10 winners over Stade Français.

The fixture was originally cancelled after the Stade Français players went on strike over a potential merger with Racing 92 back in March, and played on Wednesday with neither side participating in the Champions Cup or Challenge Cup semi-finals.

Thanks to a David Smith hat-trick, the result never looked in doubt for Castres, with the 2013 champions climbing up to fifth place on 59 points in the remarkably tight battle for play-off places. 

In a low-key first half were the main highlight was Stade losing tighthead Etienne Swanepoel to the bin, Anthony Jelonch broke the deadlock shortly before the break to send Castres into half-time ahead 5-0.

Morné Steyn hit back with a penalty at the start of the second half but from there it was all Castres, with Smith scoring two tries in five minutes, both converted by Benjamin Urdapilleta, to open up a 19-3 advantage.

New French scrum-half Antoine Dupont added a fourth score for Castres before Smith then finished his hat-trick.

Clément Daguin grabbed a late consolation score for Stade, but it had no affect on the outcome as Castres won with a try bonus point.

The scorers:

For Castres:
Tries: Jelonch, D Smith 3, Dupont
Cons: Urdapilleta 4

For Stade Français:
Try: Daguin
Con: Steyn
Pen: Steyn
Yellow Card: Swanepoel

Castres: 15 Geoffrey Palis, 14 Julien Caminati, 13 Afusipa Taumoepeau, 12 Florian Vialelle, 11 David Smith, 10 Benjamin Urdapilleta, 9 Antoine Dupont, 8 Steve Mafi, 7 Anthony Jelonch, 6 Yannick Caballero, 5 Victor Moreaux, 4 Loïc Jacquet, 3 Daniel Kotze, 2 Jody Jenneker, 1 Mihaita Lazar
Replacements: 16 Brice Mach, 17 Antoine Tichit, 18 Christophe Samson, 19 Alex Tulou, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Julien Dumora, 22 Mathieu Babillot, 23 Yohann Montes

Stade Français: 15 Paul Williams, 14 Sekou Macalou, 13 Theo Millet, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Jérémy Sinzelle, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Clément Daguin, 8 Jonathan Ross, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Mathieu Ugena, 5 Alexandre Flanquart, 4 Abdellatif Boutaty, 3 Etienne Swanepoel, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Heinke Van der Merwe
Replacements: 16 Laurent Panis, 17 Rémi Seneca, 18 Paul Gabrillagues, 19 Mathieu De Giovanni, 20 Julien Dupuy, 21 Julien Arias, 22 Hugo Bonneval, 23 Paul Alo-Emile 

Referee: Sébastien Minery