Slipper scoops Aussie Players gong

Date published: December 10 2014

Wallabies prop James Slipper has won the Medal for Excellence at the Rugby Union Players’ Association awards.

The award, voted on by all Australian Super Rugby players, is for on and off field performance based on the criteria of leadership, performance, consistency and discipline.

Slipper won his 50th Test cap in 2014 and vice-captained the Wallabies.

The Reds joins last year’s winner, Nick Cummins, and the likes of Berrick Barnes, George Gregan, George Smith and Nathan Sharpe in receiving the award.

Earlier this year the 25-year-old finished behind just Israel Folau and Michael Hooper in the race for Australian rugby’s top honour, the John Eales Medal.

Meanwhile, Western Force skipper Matt Hodgson was handed the RUPA People’s Choice Award while Melbourne Rebels flanker Sean McMahon was named Newcomer of the Year.

Cameron Clark and Emilee Cherry were named the Men’s and Women’s Sevens Player of the Year respectively while Reds centre Samu Kerevi won the National Rugby Championship’s Players’ Player Award.