Six Nations crown for O’Connell

Date published: March 27 2015

Ireland captain and lock Paul O'Connell has been awarded the Six Nations Player of the Year gong after receiving over 26 percent of the votes.

The second-row, who helped lead his side to Championship glory last weekend, saw off stiff competition from in-form Wales lock forward Alun-Wyn Jones.

Jones ended with 19 percent of the public votes while Ireland inside centre Robbie Henshaw came in third, just ahead of Wales fly-half Dan Biggar.

Italy number eight Sergio Parisse came in fifth position ahead of England nine Ben Youngs, but a pleased O'Connell was ahead of the chasing pack.

"I am delighted to receive the RBS player of the championship trophy," he said.

"When you see the names that have gone before, you realise what a great honour it is. I am very grateful for all the supporters who voted for me."