Six changes from Wales

Date published: March 13 2014

Wales have made six changes to their starting side that will face Scotland on Saturday, with Dan Biggar named alongside Mike Phillips.

Wales have made six changes to their starting line-up that will face Scotland on Saturday, with Dan Biggar named alongside Mike Phillips at half-back.

Joining the duo in the backline as a new face will be Liam Williams, with the trio in for Leigh Halfpenny, Rhys Webb and Rhys Priestland.

The rest of the backs remain unchanged from Sunday's game at Twickenham with Jamie Roberts and Jonathan Davies in the centre and Alex Cuthbert and George North on the wings.

In the pack Gethin Jenkins will become Wales' most-capped player when he makes his 105th appearance on Saturday, moving one ahead of Stephen Jones.

Jenkins will feature in a new look front-row alongside Scarlets pair Ken Owens and Rhodri Jones who get their first starts of the campaign.

In the second-row Luke Charteris returns from injury to take his place alongside Alun-Wyn Jones.

The back-row remains unchanged with captain Sam Warburton playing alongside Dan Lydiate and Taulupe Faletau.

Wales will be intent on finishing the competition on a high against a Scotland team who are looking for their first victory in Cardiff since 2002.

“Saturday is an opportunity for us to put in a performance we know we can and finish the Six Nations on a high,” said Gatland.

“We've made a number of changes and freshened things up with a just a six day turnaround between matches.
“Liam (Williams) and Mike (Phillips) come in with Leigh (Halfpenny) and Rhys (Webb) ruled out and Dan Biggar gets his opportunity at fly-half.

“In the front-row Ken Owens and Rhodri Jones get their chance to start after impressing off the bench and it's good to have Luke (Charteris) back from injury in the second-row.

“Scotland will come looking to play some rugby and had a morale boosting win against Italy and were unlucky to lose against France in recent weeks.

“We will be looking for a more accurate execution this week to finish with a win at home in Cardiff.”

Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun-Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins.
Replacements: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Paul James, 18 Adam Jones, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Rhodri Williams, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 James Hook.

Date: Saturday, March 15
Venue: Millenium Stadium
Kick-off: 14:45 GMT
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (Fra)
Assistant referees: Chris Pollock (NZ), Greg Garner (Eng)
TMO: Graham Hughes (Eng)