Shield staying in Christchurch

Date published: October 16 2010

Canterbury have locked the Ranfurly Shield away for the season with a commanding 39-21 ITM Cup win over Counties-Manukau.

Canterbury have locked the Ranfurly Shield away for the season with a commanding 39-21 win over Counties-Manukau in Christchurch on Saturday.

The result was never in doubt, with the Steelers scoring two late tries to make the scoreboard look a bit more respectable.

Canterbury scored five tries to three, with one coming through a penalty try.

The defending champions led 17-0 at half-time and blew out to 39-7 with just seven minutes to go before the late glimpse of play from their visitors.

It means Canterbury are assured of a home semi-final as they sit atop the ITM Cup ladder on 45 points.

The scorers:
For Canterbury:
Tries: Fruean, Williams, Veainu, Franks, penalty try
Cons: Brett 4Pens: Brett 2

For Counties-Manukau:
Tries: Nabou, Stowers, Tuala
Cons: Cummins 3

Canterbury: 15 Sean Maitland, 14 Tu Umaga-Marshall, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Telusa Veainu, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Andy Ellis (c), 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Ash Parker, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Steve Fualau, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Paul Ngauamo, 17 Andrew Olorenshaw, 18 Rob Verbnnakel, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Stephen Brett, 22 Ryan Crotty.

Counties Manukau: 15 Armyn Sanders, 14 Ahsee Tuala, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Tana Umaga, 11 David Raikuna, 10 Dean Cummins, 9 Samisoni Fisilau, 8 Viliami Fihaki, 7 Mark Selwyn, 6 Pepa Koloamatangi/Sikeli Nabou, 5 Jamie Chipman, 4 Ronald Raaymakers, 3 Jono Owen, 2 Grant Henson, 1 Simon Lemalu.
Replacements: 16 Ilaisa Maasi, 17 Graham Dewes, 18 Pepa Koloamatangi/Sikeli Nabou, 19 DJ Forbes, 20 August Pulu, 21 Rey Lee-Lo, 22 Sherwin Stowers.

Referee: Jonathon White