Sharks lose Lambie to injury in win over Toulon

Date published: February 6 2016

The Sharks saw off Toulon 29-21 in their warm-up match at Stade Mayol on Friday, but the win came at a cost when they lost their captain Pat Lambie to injury.

The Springbok fly-half was forced off the field in the first-half with a shoulder injury which put a dampener on the result for the Durban-based outfit.

The Sharks outscored their hosts five tries to three but had to withstand a fightback from Toulon after leading 24-0 early in the second-half.

The visitors' star performers were the Du Preez twins, Jean-Luc and Daniel, who were both rewarded with tries for their efforts. 

Toulon, who were captained by Springbok wing Bryan Habana, impressed with their forward play especially their mauling which provided headaches for the Sharks.

Despite Toulon's late surge, the Sharks held on for the win but there will be concerns over the fitness of Lambie who is an important cog in their machine.

The scorers:

For Toulon:
Tries: Menini, Orioli, Penalty try
Cons: Pelissie 2, Armitage

For The Sharks:
Tries: Reinach, Jordaan, Daniel du Preez, Jean Luc du Preez, Mvovo
Cons: Lambie, Pietersen

Toulon: 15 Delon Armitage , 14 James O'Connor, 13 Théo Belan, 12 Louis Rousset, 11 Bryan Habana (c), 10 Frédéric Michalak, 9 Jonathan Pélissié, 8 Charles Ollivon, 7 Gregory Annetta, 6 Samu Manoa, 5 Konstantin Mikautadze, 4 Thibault Lassalle, 3 Matt Stevens, 2 Jean-Charles Orioli, 1 Alexandre Menini
Replacements: 16 Badri Alkhazashvili, 17 Thomas Vernet, 18 Andrew Cramond, 19 George Stokes, 20 Kylian Jaminet, 21 UJ Seuteni, 22 Anthony Meric, 23 Manasa Saulo

Sharks: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Lwazi Mvovo, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Odwa Ndungane, 10 Pat Lambie (c), 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Dave McDuling, 21 Hyron Andrews, 22 Stefan Ungerer, 23 Michael Claassens, 24 Garth April, 25 Heimar Williams, 26 Johan Deysel, 27 Wandile Mjekevu, 28 Sibusiso Sithole

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz