Sharks boosted by flank returns

Date published: June 11 2015

The Sharks have named their side for Saturday's Super Rugby season finale against the Stormers in Durban, with three veterans bidding farewell.

Bismarck du Plessis, Willem Alberts and Jannie du Plessis were this week confirmed to be leaving the franchise at the end of the 2015 campaign.

They are all named in the XV as Alberts starts in place of Etienne Oosthuizen on the flank while the Du Plessis brothers are at prop and hooker.

It is an unchanged backline to the one that beat the Rebels a fortnight ago but the pack sees the return of Marcell Coetzee, who takes over from Khaya Majola at openside. Oosthuizen moves into the second-row in place of Mouritz Botha, who drops out of the matchday 23 altogether this week.

"I'm the biggest Sharks fan and always will be," said departing hooker Du Plessis. 

"It's about being the best and staying at the top of your game. It's always about those succession plans when somebody leaves, and when someone comes in and whether he will be able to do the job. But I think the Cell C Sharks are in a great space and I don't think there is any better culture or place to play rugby. 

"For me, I am a passionate Shark; I don't know where I will be heading exactly. I'm a very principle-based guy and I won't go anywhere else. If ever I get the opportunity to come back again, and the coaching staff think I can add value, I will most likely take them up on that offer. I will miss this place with everything I have."

Sharks: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 S'bura Sithole, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Marco Wentzel (c), 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Khaya Majola, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 Heimar Williams.

Date: Saturday, June 13
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19:10 local (17:10 GMT, 03:10 AEST, 05:10 NZST)
Referee: Glen Jackson
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman, Archie Sehlako
TMO: Marius Jonker