Seven-try Canada thrash Portugal

Date published: November 23 2013

Canada finished their November Test campaign on a high after beating Portugal 52-8 in Lisbon on Saturday.

Canada finished their November Test campaign on a high after beating Portugal 52-8 in Lisbon on Saturday.

James Pritchard was the visitors' hero, contributing 27 points via two tries, four conversions and three penalties.

Canada opened the scoring in the 11th minute when Ciaran Hearn got in for a try after running on to a pass from Harry Jones.

Pritchard converted and 10 minutes later got his first five-pointer – after gathering his own chip kick – which he also converted. He added a penalty before Russia got their first points on the board through a penalty from their full-back Pedro Leal.

Canada took their foot off the pedal for the rest of the half with Pritchard adding a penalty and his second try to give them a comfortable 25-3 lead at half-time.

After the interval the visitors upped the ante, with Hearns scoring his second try and Nick Blevins, Taylor Paris and Connor Braid also crossing the whitewash.

The scorers:

For Portugal:
Tries: Bettencourt
Pen: Leal

For Canada:
Tries: Hearn 2, Pritchard 2, Blevins, Braid, Paris
Cons: Pritchard 4
Pens: Pritchard 3

Portugal: 15 Pedro Leal, 14 Gonçalo Foro, 13 Pedro Bettencourt, 12 Miguel Leal, 11 Frederico Oliveira, 10 Francisco V. Almeida, 9 Francisco P. Magalhães, 8 Vasco Uva, 7 António Duarte, 6 Fernando Almeida, 5 Gonçalo Uva, 4 Rafael Simões, 3 Jorge Segurado, 2 João Correia (capt), 1 Bruno Medeiros.
Replacements: 16 João Almeida, 17 Bruno Rocha, 18 Francisco Tavares, 19 Luís Portela, 20 Eric dos Santos, 21 Nuno Penha e Costa, 22 Francisco Appleton, 23 Adérito Esteves.

Canada: 15 James Pritchard, 14 Conor Trainor, 13 Ciaran Hearn, 12 Nick Blevins, 11 Taylor Paris, 10 Harry Jones, 9 Phil Mack, 8 Adam Kleeberger, 7 Nanyak Dala, 6 John Moonlight, 5 Tyler Hotson, 4 Jon Phelan, 3 Andrew Tiedemann, 2 Ray Barkwill, 1 Hubert Buydens (capt).
Replacements: 16 Benoit Piffero, 17 Djustice Sears-Duru, 18 Jake Ilnicki, 19 Brett Beukeboom, 20 Kyle Gilmour, 21 Jamie Mackenzie, 22 Pat Parfrey, 23 Connor Braid.

Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)