Scotland Sevens name squad for Dubai

Date published: November 28 2016

Scotland Sevens Head Coach Calum MacRae has named his 12-man squad for the opening tournament of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens Series in Dubai. 

Scottish Rugby Academy player George Horne is set to debut for the national Sevens side after impressing in training, with Glasgow Warriors’ Fraser Lyle also coming into the squad.

Joseva Nayacavou, a regular in the Scotland Sevens jersey, will also join the core group as they travel to Dubai.

Head Coach Calum MacRae said: "We are really looking forward to the challenge of this year’s Series, and we have worked hard to try and move our game on, taking lessons from last season," MacRae told the Scotland Rugby website.

"George Horne, the one new cap, has trained extremely well and deserves his opportunity as part of his ongoing development."

"Focus will be on our own performance and how consistent we are approaching each tie. The players take confidence from the work they’ve got under the belts and now it’s about executing on the field, repeatedly winning the personal one-on-one battles.

"The series is a new landscape with changes to other teams rosters and management at the start of a new four-year cycle. I’m sure this weekend in Dubai will post some results in ties that will turn a few heads."

Scotland are grouped in pool B for the Dubai leg, where they will face South Africa, USA and Uganda.

MacRae continued: "It’s a very challenging pool we face in Dubai. USA are a quality side that have improved every year under Mike Friday and can put any team to the sword when given the chance; South Africa are probably the most consistent team in the competition; and Uganda have won the African qualifier to play in Dubai, beating some quality opposition on the way.

"We will have to be at our very best to progress through to the cup from this pool."

Scotland Sevens squad: 1 Scott Riddell, 2 Dougie Fife, 3 Fraser Lyle, 4 James Johnstone, 5 Nick McLennan, 6 Mark Robertson, 7 Jamie Farndale, 8 Joseva Nayacavou, 9 George Horne, 10 Scott Wight, 11 James Fleming, 12 Gavin Lowe