Scotland make two changes

Date published: October 16 2015

Scotland head coach Vern Cotter has named his team for the quarter-final against Australia on Sunday at Twickenham.

Ross Ford and Jonny Gray will both be unavailable with both given bans. Fraser Brown and Tim Swinson will take their respective places in the starting XV.

This is the fewest changes Scotland have made in successive RWC matches since the 2007 World Cup, when they made no changes to the team that beat Italy in the pool phase and then faced Argentina in the quarter-finals.

Greig Laidlaw will captain the side as he has done over the course of this tournament. Laidlaw will skipper the troops for the 21st time in a tesT match for Scotland, joint-second most along with Bryan Redpath. Only David Sole has captained Scotland more often (25 times) in tests.

At the conclusion of the pool phase, Laidlaw was the tournament's leading points scorer on 60.

Laidlaw is coming up on a milestone as he has kicked 99 penalty goals in his test career. The only two players that have totalled 100-plus for Scotland are Chris Paterson (170) and Gavin Hastings (140).

Tommy Seymour has scored a try in each of his last four test appearances. The record for a Scotland player for scoring tries in most consecutive tests in the professional era is five by Gregor Townsend in 1999.

More to follow…

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Pete Horne, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 Dave Denton, 7 John Hardie, 6 Blair Cowan, 5 Richie Gray, 4 Tim Swinson, 3 WP Nel, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements:16 Kevin Bryce, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Alasdair Strokosch, 20 Josh Strauss, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Richie Vernon, 23 Sean Lamont.

Date: Sunday, October 18
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 16:00 local (15:00 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees:  Glen Jackson (New Zealand), Pascal Gauzere (France)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)