Scotland end pool stage on a high

Date published: June 10 2015

Scotland bounced back from their opening two losses to finish the U20 World Championship pool campaign with a 29-6 victory over Argentina.

Both these sides were looking for a morale-boosting victory to take into next week's play-off stages after having gone down to Ireland and New Zealand.

There was little to separate the duo at the break as two penalties inside eight minutes from Scotland full-back Blair Kinghorn were replied to by Argentina fly-half Domingo Miotti on the 35-minute mark, with a further penalty apiece meaning the Scots went in at the break 9-6 in front in Calvisano.

The Celts clicked into gear after the turnaround though as when right wing Robbie Nairn finished off a breakaway score, Scotland were now 19-6 ahead courtesy of another three points from full-back Kinghorn to go with the try.

The next score in the game was always going to be vital and with Scottish tails up, they looked more likely to get it at Stadio San Michele.

So it proved as with 52 minutes played, the Scots won a scrum against the head before their backline moved it through the hands for left wing Richard Galloway to cross in the corner. Suddenly it was 24-6 with the Argentines looking stunned at how the gap widened.

Flanker Lewis Wynne would add the gloss on 68 minutes as Scotland finish the pool in third position.

The scorers:

For Argentina:
Pens: Miotti 2

For Scotland:
Tries: Nairn, Galloway, Wynne
Con: Kinghorn
Pens: Kinghorn 4

Argentina: 15 Matías Ferro, 14 Tomás Granella, 13 Emiliano Boffelli, 12 Bautista Ezcurra (c), 11 Juan Cruz Mallía, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Patricio Baronio, 8 Santiago Portillo, 7 Ernesto Olmedo, 6 José Deheza, 5 Enzo Ocampo, 4 Ignacio Calas, 3 Cristian Bartoloni, 2 Ignacio Calles, 1 Javier Díaz.
Replacements: 16 Gaspar Baldunciel, 17 Nicolás Ocello, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Ignacio Larrague, 20 Vittorio Rosti, 21 Lucas Gasparri, 22 Lautaro Bazán Vélez, 23 Santiago Resino.

Scotland: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Robbie Nairn, 13 Alec Coombes, 12 Patrick Kelly, 11 Richard Galloway, 10 Rory Hutchinson, 9 Ben Vellacott, 8 Magnus Bradbury (c), 7 Lewis Wynne, 6 Ally Miller, 5 Neil Irvine-Hess, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Sam James, 1 Murray McCallum.
Replacements: 16 Ross Graham, 17 Dan Elkington, 18 Jack Owlett, 19 Andrew Davidson, 20 Ruaridh Knott, 21 George Horne, 22 Ruaraidh Smith, 23 Jamie Ritchie.