Scotland change two for Ireland

Date published: March 19 2015

Scotland coach Vern Cotter has made two changes to his starting lineup to face Ireland on Saturday with Adam Ashe and Ryan Grant called up.

Loosehead prop, Grant, is promoted from the bench in place of Alasdair Dickinson, while it's the same thing for Ashe who moves into the starting lineup ahead of Rob Harley at blindside flanker.

There is one further change among the replacements with Tim Visser included ahead of Johnnie Beattie as Cotter reverts to have three backs on the bench.

The game will see tighthead Euan Murray earn his 66th cap, to become Scotland's all-time most capped prop ahead of Allan Jacobsen.

Scotland have lost all four of their games so far and take on Ireland aiming to avoid a whitewash.

"We’ve played with a huge amount of spirit and courage, are putting teams under pressure and are scoring tries, which is encouraging, but we want to go one better this Saturday against Ireland, last year’s champions," said Cotter.

"Both ourselves and Ireland are hugely motivated for this game. Make no mistake, they are coming to Edinburgh believing they can win the title, while we will be going out there desperate to throw everything at our last Championship match to win the game and repay the support of our fans."

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Mark Bennett, 12 Matt Scott, 11 Dougie Fife, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 David Denton, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Adam Ashe, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Jim Hamilton, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant
Replacements: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Geoff Cross, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Rob Harley, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Greig Tonks, 23 Tim Visser

Date: Saturday, 21 March
Venue: Murrayfield
Kick-off: 14.30 GMT
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)