Scarlets respond with big win

Date published: September 20 2014

The Scarlets hit back from their disappointing Round Two PRO12 loss as they demolished Treviso 43-0 at Parc y Scarlets on Saturday.

The Scarlets hit back from their dismal Round Two PRO12 defeat as they beat a poor Treviso 43-0 at Parc y Scarlets.

Emyr Phillips opened the Welsh region's account before Gareth Davies crossed twice to give them a comfortable 19-0 advantage at the interval.

Mat Luamanu was sin-binned early in the second period and, during the numer eight's time off the field, the hosts effectively wrapped the game up through two Liam Williams' touchdowns and Johan Snyman's score.

But it was left for Gareth Owen to have the final word when the centre crossed the whitewash Treviso went into this match having failed to pick up a point in their opening two games and they made a disastrous start when, immediately from the kick-off, Phillips touched down for the hosts.

By contrast, it was an ideal tonic for Wayne Pivac's men, who themselves were looking for their first victory of the campaign.

They controlled the initial exchanges and it was no surprise to see them extend their advantage through last season's top try-scorer Davies.

Despite the home side's dominance, it took them until three minutes from the break for the Llanelli-based outfit to register their third score, which again came through their scrum-half.

Treviso went into the second period needing a response but instead it was the Scarlets that went through the gears.

Following Luamanu's yellow card, Williams crossed twice and Snyman also went over to take the score to 38-0.

It was a dreadful performance by the Italian side and soon got worse as Owen touched down. Now a case of damage limitation, Treviso at least prevented the Welsh region from going over for the eighth time.

The scorers:

For Scarlets:
Tries: Phillips, G Davies 2, L Williams 2, Snyman, Owen
Con: Priestland 4

Scarlets: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Harry Robinson, 13 Gareth Owen, 12 Scott Williams (c), 11 Michael Tagicakibau, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Rory Pitman, 7 John Barclay, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Johan Snyman, 4 Jake Ball, 3 Rhodri Jones, 2 Emyr Phillips, 1 Rob Evans.
Replacements: 16 Darran Harris, 17 Phil John, 18 Peter Edwards, 19 Richard Kelly, 20 Rob McCusker, 21 Aled Davies, 22 Steven Shingler, 23 Adam Warren.

Treviso: 15 Ruggero Trevisan, 14 Angelo Esposito, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Alberto Sgarbi, 11 Andrea Pratichetti, 10 Sam Christie, 9 James Ambrosini, 8 Mat Luamanu, 7 Tomas Vallejos Cinalli, 6 Marco Lazzaroni, 5 Corniel Van Zyl, 4 Antonio Pavanello (c), 3 Rupert Harden, 2 Giovanni Maistri, 1 Matteo Muccignat.
Replacements: 16 Davide Giazzon, 17 Salesi Manu, 18 Matteo Zanusso, 19 Marco Fuser, 20 Leo Auva'a, 21 Enrico Bacchin, 22 Joe Carlisle, 23 Henry Seniloli.

Referee: Matteo Liperini (Italy)
Assistant Referees: Sean Brickell (Wales), Jon Mason (Wales)