SBW returns for Chiefs

Date published: March 26 2015

1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Sonny_Bill_Williams_Chiefs_v_Crusaders_Super_Rugby_2015

The Chiefs have made several changes to their starting line-up for Saturday's clash with the Cheetahs in Hamilton.

Amongst the backs, All Blacks midfielder Sonny Bill Williams returns to the run-on side after missing last weekend's narrow loss to the Sharks due to concussion, and Charlie Ngatai is bracketed with Seta Tamanivalu at outside centre.

Tom Marshall comes onto the left wing.

Andrew Horrell moves to the reserves and is joined by prop Siate Tokolahi and Marty McKenzie.

In the pack, there's a brand new front row.

Pauliasi Manu returns from injury and is joined by Quentin MacDonald and Ben Tameifuna.

Chiefs assistant coach Andrew Strawbridge expects an exciting encounter against the Bloemfontein-based outfit.

“The Cheetahs are one of the more positive South African teams and we know they will test us with their line out drive and their kicking game,” he said.

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Charlie Ngatai/Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Tom Marshall, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (c), 5 Michael Fitzgerald, 4 Matt Symons 3 Ben Tameifuna 2 Quentin MacDonald, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Siate Tokolahi, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Michael Allardice, 20 Johan Bardoul, 21 Augustine Pulu, 22 Andrew Horrell, 23 Marty McKenzie.

Date: Saturday, March 28
Venue: Waikato Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 16.30 local (03.30 GMT, 14.30 AEST, 05.30 SAST)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Stuart Berry (South Africa), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)

COMMENTS