Saracens too good for Worcester

Date published: September 29 2011

Second half tries from Dave Strettle and Brad Barritt helped Saracens to an 18-6 victory over Worcester at Vicarage Road.

Second half tries from Dave Strettle and Brad Barritt helped Saracens to an 18-6 victory over Worcester at Vicarage Road on Sunday.

Neither side was able to get over the whitewash during a tight opening period, and it was Worcester who would take the lead with them into the interval.

Saracens went ahead in the second minute when Charlie Hodgson knocked over a penalty, but the visitors responded mid-way through the first half with an Andy Goode drop goal.

The score remained at 3-3 until the stroke of half-time, when Goode's first successful penalty of the afternoon put the visitors in front.

Worcester were looking for their second win of the season following their opening day win over Sale, while Saracens were looking to make it two wins on the bounce after they got their season up and running with victory away at Bath a week earlier.

And it would be the home side that would fulfill their ambitions, restricting Worcester to a pointless second period and crossing for tries to seal victory.

First, on 52 minutes, David Strettle crossed to give Sarries the lead, and though the conversion went wide, they wouldn't have to wait long to extend their advantage.

This time it was Brad Barritt whose excellent break through a lethargic Worcester defence brought about a second, telling score.

Hodgson was on the money with the extras to make it 18-6 just past the hour mark, and that's how it stayed, elevating Saracens to fourth in the table.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Tries: Strettle, Barritt
Con: Hodgson
Pens: Hodgson 2

For Worcester:
Pen: Goode
Drop: Goode

Saracens : 15 Alex Goode, 14 David Strettle, 13 Adam Powell, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Joe Maddock, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Andy Saull, 6 Justin Melck, 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 Steve Borthwick (capt), 3 Carlos Nieto, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Rhys Gill.
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Deon Carstens, 18 Mako Vunipola, 19 Hugh Vyvyan, 20 Will Fraser, 21 Ben Spencer, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 James Short.

Worcester: 15 Errie Claassens, 14 Marcel Garvey, 13 Alex Grove, 12 Alex Crockett, 11 Miles Benjamin, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Jonny Arr, 8 Kai Horstmann (capt), 7 Jake Abbott, 6 Matt Kvesic, 5 Craig Gillies, 4 Chris Jones, 3 Bruce Douglas, 2 Chris Fortey, 1 Matt Mullan.
Replacements: 16 Ceri Jones, 17 Ed Shervington, 18 Tevita Taumoepeau, 19 James Percival, 20 Sam Betty, 21 Ollie Frost, 22 Joe Carlisle, 23 Andy Short.

Venue: Vicarage Road
Referee: Llyr ApGeraint-Roberts