Saracens resist Sharks comeback

Date published: January 25 2014

The Sharks kicked off their Super Rugby pre-season preparations with a 23-15 loss to Saracens at Allianz Park on Saturday.

The Sharks kicked off their Super Rugby pre-season preparations with a 23-15 loss to Saracens at Allianz Park in London on Saturday.

First half tries from David Strettle and Charlie Hodgson put Saracens in the driving seat in a first half that saw both of the Sharks' locks sin-binned.

In the second half, the Sharks scored two tries of their own to set up a grandstand finish, but the kicking of Hodgson secured victory for the home side.

Jake White's troops were denied possession and territory for most of the first half with Saracens doing most of the playing.

While the side did not come away with the victory, White would be pleased with some of the youngsters that showed some maturity against a top side.

The Sharks went into the match with a young backline that showed the potential that would come in handy when injuries take its toll midway through the season.

White would have taken note of the performance of standout inside centre Andre Esterhuizen, who constantly troubled Saracens' defence, while loose forward Jean Deysel put in a mammoth display.

Deysel constantly got over the gain line with his menacing runs with ball in hand while he stopped the opposition in their tracks with bone crushing tackles.

White would spend some time analysing the scrums where his Springbok front row of Beast Mtawarira, Jannie du Plessis and Bismarck had a difficult day at work.

The Sharks scored the first points on the board shortly after the start with fly-half Tim Swiel succeeding with a penalty conversion before the hosts levelled the scores through a Hodgson three-pointer.

Saracens took the lead in the 22 minute when Hodgson made no mistake with his kick at goal.

Five minutes later Saracens were handed double-barrelled advantage when Sharks lock Ettienne Oosthuizen was yellow carded for collapsing the maul metres from the line.

As Oosthuizen was making his way off the artificial playing pitch, Saracens wing Strettle scored from a quick tap with Hodgson converting.

The Sharks suffered another blow from the restart when Springbok lock Pieter-Steph du Toit also received his marching orders for taking the player in the air.

Despite the disadvantage the Sharks launched an encouraging salvo on the Saracens line reaching the 22 for the first time in the encounter.

Their efforts was to no avail as the ball was fumbled on their way to the line and it was the hosts instead that scored on the 40 minute mark.

Hodgson intercepted a pass from Swiel meant for Paul Jordaan to score the try which he converted to extend their lead to 17 points going into the half-time break.

Shortly after the break White sent on the fresh legs with a new-look pack of forwards having to do the donkey work.

This seemed to pay dividends as they managed to get greater gain line advantage, with replacement scrumhalf Charl McLeod providing the backline with sharper service from the base.

In the 60th minute Esterhuizen was rewarded with his stellar performance with a try that emanated from a linebreak by flanker Tera Mtembu.

Five minutes later the Sharks again crossed the whitewash with Heymar Williams doing the damage to bring them within five points of the home side.

Hodgson, however, took the wind out of the visitors' sails as he knocked over a penalty in the 68th minute to extend their lead to eight points.

The scorers:

For Saracens:
Tries: Strettle, Hodgson
Cons: Hodgson 2
Pens: Hodgson 3
Yellow card: Stevens

For the Sharks:
Tries: Esterhuizen, Williams
Con: Swiel
Pen: Swiel
Yellow cards: Oosthuizen, du Toit

Saracens: 15 Chris Wyles, 14 James Short, 13 Michael Tagicakibau, 12 Marcelo Bosch, 11 David Strettle, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Ernst Joubert, 7 Jacques Burger, 6 Justin Melck, 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 Steve Borthwick, 3 Matt Stevens , 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Richard Barrington.
Replacements: 16 Scott Spurling, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Tom Jubb, 20 Takashi Kikutani, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Duncan Taylor, 23 Sam Stanley.

Sharks: 15 Tyler Fisher, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Tera Mtembu, 5 Pieter-Steph Du Toit, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (c), 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Dale Chadwick, 18 Lourens Adriannse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Heimar Williams, 23 Jaco van Tonder

Referee: Tim Wigglesworth (England)