Samoa knock stuffing out of Wallabies

Date published: July 17 2011

Samoa sent a warning shot out to their World Cup rivals with a gutsy performance doing for Australia 32-23 at ANZ Stadium on Sunday.

Samoa sent a warning shot to their World Cup Pool rivals with a gutsy performance doing for the Wallabies 32-23 at ANZ Stadium on Sunday.

World rugby's second-ranked team were well beaten by the islanders just a week away from their Tri-Nations opener against South Africa.

The impressive Samoans outscored the two-time world champions four tries to two for their first win over Australia in five meetings.

Alesana Tuilagi, Paul Williams, Kane Thompson and George Pisi crossed for the visitors, with fly-half Tusi Pisi adding 12 points with the boot.

The Wallabies scored a try in each half through Digby Ioane and Matt Giteau, but were always struggling after the visitors had raced 17-0 ahead.

Samoa had never before beaten a top-five ranked country – although they have beaten Wales three times, most notably at the 1991 World Cup.

The scorers:

For Australia:
Tries: Ioane, Giteau
Con: Giteau 2
Pen: Giteau 3

For Samoa:
Tries: Tuilagi, Williams, Thompson, G Pisi
Con: T Pisi 3
Pen: T Pisi 2

Australia: 15 Mark Gerrard, 14 Rod Davies, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Sekope Kepu.
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Dan Vickerman, 19 Scott Higginbotham, 20 Beau Robinson, 21 Will Genia, 22 Kurtley Beale.

Samoa: 15 Paul Williams, 14 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 13 George Pisi, 12 Seilala Mapusua, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Kahn Fotuali'i, 8 George Stowers, 7 Maurie Fa'asavalu, 6 Taisina Tuifu'a, 5 Daniel Leo, 4 Kane Thompson, 3 Anthony Perenise, 2 Mahonri Schwalger (c), 1 Sakaria Taulafo.
Replacements: 16 Ti'i Paulo, 17 Census Johnston, 18 Filipo Lavea Levi, 19 Manaia Salavea, 20 Brenton Helleur, 21 Eliota Fuimaono Sapolu, 22 James So'oialo.

Referee: Marius Jonker (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)