Samoa change three for Springboks

Date published: September 24 2015

Samoa head coach Stephen Betham has named his team for the Pool B match against South Africa at Villa Park.

There are three changes to Samoa's starting XV from the 25-16 win over USA with Mike Stanley, TJ Ioane and Motu Matu'u all coming into the team for their first RWC starts.

Stanley and Matu'u both played off the bench in the win over the USA, but are now in the starting team at the expense of Tusi Pisi and Ole Avei, respectively, who both move to the bench.

Ioane comes into the team from outside the first matchday 23 to replace Maurie Fa'asavalu in the back row, and there are also some changes on the bench, with Vavea Tuilagi and George Pisi earning places on the bench.

It means all three Pisi brothers (Ken, Tusi and George) could be on the field at the same time, while Vavae could also join older brother Alesana if he gets on.

Vavae would become the fifth of six brothers to play RWC rugby after Fereti (1995), Henry (2007), Alesana (2007, 2011, 2015) and Manusamoa (ENG, 2011), leaving Anitelea as the only brother without RWC experience. Anitelea was part of Samoa's RWC 2007 squad, but was replaced before Samoa's second match due to injury.

Samoa: 15 Tim Nanai-Williams, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 Paul Perez, 12 Rey Lee-Lo, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Mike Stanley, 9 Kahn Fotuali'i, 8 Ofisa Treviranus (c), 7 Jack Lam, 6 TJ Ioane, 5 Joe Tekori, 4 Teofilo Paulo, 3 Anthony Perenise, 2 Motu Matu'u, 1 Zak Taulafo
Replacements: 16 Ole Avei, 17 Viliami Afatia, 18 Census Johnston, 19 Faifili Levave, 20 Vavae Tuilagi, 21 Vavao Afemai, 22 Tusi Pisi, 23 George Pisi

Date: Saturday, September 26 
Venue: Villa Park, Birmingham
Kick-off: 16:45 local (15:45 GMT)
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: JP Doyle (England), Angus Gardner (Australia)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)