Sale win at Welford Road

Date published: February 6 2016

A Josh Beaumont try was enough for Sale to beat Leicester 10-3 at Welford Road on Saturday afternoon.

Profligate kicking was the order of the day in the first half as both Danny Cipriani and Freddie Burns missed a succession of opportunities to set the scoreboard ticking over.

They were able to successfully kick one penalty each to make the score 3-3 at the interval.

There was only one score in the second half and it came through Josh Beaumont, the visitors' captain scoring a try which was converted successfully on this occasion by Cipriani.

Burns had missed a kick early on in the half for Leicester but opportunities were otherwise few and far between as it finished with Sale deserved winners.

The win sees the Sharks move into seventh place in the Premiership table in their push for Champions Cup qualification.

Leicester, however, remain in fourth position but are vulnerable having failed to gain a bounus point and fifth placed Wasps beating Newcastle.

Cipriani put Sale into an early lead in the 11th minute with his second penalty attempt of the afternoon.

In driving rain opportunities were hard to come by until Freddie Burns was successful with his first attempted penalty kick in the 31st minute to draw the sides level.

Half-time came with the scores at 3-3, both sides struggling for a foothold in a match being dictated by the poor conditions at Welford Road.

On his return from the England squad, Sale's Beaumont touching down after a driving maul from the visitors. Cipriani put his kicking woes behind him to convert and establish a 3-10 lead and this was how it finished.

The scorers:

For Leicester:
Pen: Burns

For Sale:
Try: Beaumont
Con: Cipriani
Pen: Cipriani

Leicester: 15 Tommy Bell, 14 Peter Betham, 13 Mathew Tait, 12 Matt Smith, 11 Telusa Veainu, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Sam Harrison, 8 Jordan Crane, 7 Lachlan McCaffrey, 6 Mike Fitzgerald, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Dom Barrow, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Tom Youngs (c), 1 Logovi'i Mulipola
Replacements: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Riccardo Brugnara, 18 Greg Bateman, 19 Ed Slater, 20 Tom Croft, 21 Jono Kitto, 22 Gonzalo Camacho, 23 Jack Roberts

Sale: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Will Addison, 13 Sam James, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Nev Edwards, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Chris Cusiter, 8 Josh Beaumont (c), 7 TJ Ioane, 6 Cameron Neild, 5 Andrei Ostrikov, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Ross Harrison
Replacements: 16 Neil Briggs, 17 Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 18 Brian Mujati, 19 Jonathan Mills, 20 David Seymour, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Joe Ford, 23 Tom Arscott

Referee: Tim Wigglesworth
Assistant Referees: Ross Campbell, Paul Burton
TMO: Trevor Fisher