Sale salvage draw at Sixways

Date published: September 24 2016

Sale fought back from being 31-17 down to salvage a 34-34 draw with Worcester in a thrilling Premiership clash at Sixways Stadium.

The Sharks set the early pace and two tries from Will Addison set them up for an impressive lead.

However, Jamie Shillcock's first Premiership try along with efforts from Jonny Arr and Perry Humphreys saw Warriors rally back into a slim half-time lead.

The hosts carried their momentum forward into the second-half and an early try from Wynand Olivier set them going.

Shillcock later completed his brace to put Worcester into a commanding 31-17 lead with the bonus point secured.

Sale were not going to lie down that easily, though, as Neil Briggs and Halani Aulika scored late tries to secure a bonus point for Sharks and a share of the spoils in dramatic 34-34 draw.

Sharks made a great to the match and were awarded in the third minute when Addison touched down in the corner to give his side an early lead. AJ MacGinty successfully converted from out wide to set up an early 7-0 lead.

MacGinty extended the visitors' advantage in the 14th minute with a penalty from a wide angle after a Warriors infringement at the lineout.

The hosts bounced back well and three minutes later a long spell of possession in Sale's 22 was rewarded as Shillcock crossed the whitewash for his first ever Premiership try.

Ryan Lamb missed his conversion attempt and Worcester were punished in the 19th minute as Addison pounced on a loose ball to steel in from 35 metres out and score under the posts. MacGinty kicked the conversion to make the score 5-17.

Warriors scored their second try after 28 minutes, Arr scoring from the base of a scrum. Lamb converted on this occasion, cutting the deficit to five points.

The hosts drew level after 36 minutes, Humphreys ran a good line off the back of a good move to run in under the posts. Lamb added the extras to nudge Worcester into a 19-17 half-time lead.

Warriors flew out of the blocks in the second-half and two minutes in were rewarded, Lamb breaking free of the Sharks defence before playing in Olivier to score. Lamb converted to establish a nine-point lead for the hosts.

To add insult to injury, Sale's Byron McGuigan was sent to the sin-bin for foul play in the back line in the build-up to the try.

Shillcock scored his second try and Worcester's fourth to secure the bonus point after 52 minutes. The England U20 international ran nearly the entire length of the pitch to score in the corner and take the score to 31-17.

MacGinty was on target with a penalty six minutes later to cut the hosts' advantage to 11 points.

In the 67th minute, Sale hooker Briggs burrowed over to score another try for the visitors. MacGinty converted well to make the score 31-27, setting up a dramatic finish.

However, Warriors held firm and were rewarded as Lamb kicked a penalty in the 72nd minute, taking the score to 34-27.

Sixways is a venue always full of drama and this tradition did not stop on this occasion as Sale continued to push and were rewarded with a dramatic late equalising try in the 76th minute, Aulika the man to power over under the posts to score. MacGinty continued his fine kicking form to score a dramatic equalising conversion, making the score 34-34.

The scorers:

For Worcester Warriors  
Tries: Shillcock 2, Arr, Humphreys, Olivier
Cons: Lamb 3
Pen: Lamb

For Sale Sharks 
Tries: Addison 2, Briggs, Aulika
Cons: McGinty 4
Pens: McGinty 2

Worcester: 15 Jamie Shillcock, 14 Perry Humphreys, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Jackson Willison, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Ryan Lamb, 9 Jonny Arr, 8 Phil Dowson (c), 7 Carl Kirwan, 6 Alafoti Faosiliva, 5 Darren Barry, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Niall Annett, 1 Val Rapava Ruskin
Replacements: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Na’ama Leleimalefaga, 18 James Johnston, 19 Christian Scotland-Williamson, 20 Tevita Cavubati, 21 Luke Baldwin, 22 Josh Adams, 23 Max Stelling

Sale Sharks: 15 Byron McGuigan, 14 Nev Edwards, 13 Will Addison, 12 Johnny Leota, 11 Paolo Odogwu, 10 AJ MacGinty, 9 Peter Stringer, 8 Josh Beaumont (c), 7 David Seymour, 6 Cameron Neild, 5 Jonathan Mills, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Neil Briggs, 1 Eifion Lewis-Roberts
Replacements: 16 Ross Harrison, 17 Halani Aulika, 18 Andrei Ostrikov, 19 Laurence Pearce, 20 Magnus Lund, 21 Mike Phillips, 22 Dan Mugford, 23 Nick Scott

Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant Referees: Greg Garner, Roy Maybank
TMO: David Rose