Saints fight back to beat Saracens

Date published: April 25 2015

Northampton Saints fought back from 6-14 down to claim a 25-20 victory over Premiership rivals Saracens at stadiummk on Saturday.

Saracens took the lead at half time after two tries for Chris Wyles and a successful penalty for Charlie Hodgson.

Northampton were right on their tails with a try for Samu Manoa and two penalties for Stephen Myler meaning they were trailing only 13-17 at half time.

Saracens managed only one penalty for Hodgson in the second half, as he was out-kicked by his opposition fly-half.

Myler scored four penalties in the final 40 to secure a narrow victory for Northampton.

Wyles opened the scoring in only the fifth minute of the first half when a series of passes out wide drew the Northampton defence out of their line and the winger was clear to cross.

Myler replied with two penalties for Northampton to bring the score to within just one point.

Wyles was in again for Saracens minutes later as he literally flew over the line in the corner to score the try.

The Saints replied when Manoa was on the end of a series of clever offloads and he was able to cross the line virtually unchallenged.

Both Hodgson and Myler then missed penalties before Hodgson finally found the target, taking his team into half time in the lead 13-17.

Hodgson opened the second half with another penalty before Saracens had Maro Itoje sent to the sin bin for a professional foul on 48 minutes.

Myler managed to claim two penalties for Northampton in the time that Itoje was off the field.

The Northampton fly-half then scored a further two penalties to put his side back in the lead by five points.

It was a tense final few minutes as Myler's 80th minute penalty attempt hit the posts and was collected by Saracens but the home side saw off the challenge and came away with the 25-20 victory.

The scorers:

For Northampton:
Try: Manoa
Con: Myler
Pen: Myler 6

For Saracens:
Tries: Wyles 2
Con: Hodgson 2
Pen: Hodgson 2

Northampton: 15 Ahsee Tuala, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Jamie Elliott, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Kahn Fotuali'i, 8 Samu Manoa, 7 Calum Clark, 6 Tom Wood, 5 Christian Day, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Alex Corbisiero.
Replacements: 16 Mike Haywood, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Sam Dickinson, 20 Jon Fisher, 21 Lee Dickson, 22 Tom Stephenson, 23 James Wilson.

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 David Strettle, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barritt (c), 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Charlie Hodgson, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Kelly Brown, 6 Ernst Joubert, 5 Maro Itoje, 4 George Kruis, 3 James Johnston, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Mako Vunipola.
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Rhys Gill, 18 Kieran Longbottom, 19 Jim Hamilton, 20 Jackson Wray, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Chris Ashton.

Referee: Greg Garner
Assistant Referees: JP Doyle, Andrew Jackson
TMO: Rowan Kitt