Reds change four for Hurricanes

Date published: April 23 2015

Reds head coach Richard Graham has made four changes to his starting XV to face the Hurricanes in Brisbane on Sunday.

There are two enforced changes, with Curtis Browning (knee) and Karmichael Hunt (adductor) ruled out of the match after suffering injuries against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein last weekend.

In the forwards, recent debutant Adam Korczyk will make his starting debut at blindside flanker, in place of the injured Browning. Korczyk made his debut against the Bulls in Pretoria two weeks ago and scored his first Super Rugby try against the Cheetahs last weekend.

The other three changes are in the backs, where the injury to Hunt has forced a reshuffle, with veteran utility back Lachie Turner shifting from wing to full-back, Chris Feauai-Sautia going from outside centre to wing and Anthony Fainga’a brought back into the starting side at inside centre.

The bench features two potential debutants, with hooker Andrew Ready again named as a replacement, along with 2015 signing Lolo Fakaosilea.

“Injury has forced two changes this week,” Graham said.

“Curtis (Browning) suffered a pretty ordinary knee injury early in the Cheetahs match. He is having exploratory surgery today to determine what the extent of the injury is.

“Karmichael (Hunt) is a victim of his own high standards. He has done a lot of work on the field in the past few weeks to improve all aspects of his game and as a consequence the load with games and travel was too much. He suffered a small adductor strain.

“Adam (Korczyk) will continue at blindside after a strong performance last week and Anthony (Fainga’a) returns to start at inside centre with the rest just positional changes.

"That provides us with the best amount of continuity and also rewards the group for their performances on tour.”

Reds: 15 Lachie Turner, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Anthony Fainga'a, 11 James O'Connor, 10 Nick Frisby, 9 Will Genia, 8 Adam Thomson, 7 Liam Gill, 6 Adam Korczyk, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 James Hanson, 1 James Slipper (c).
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Sef Faagase, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Marco Kotze, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Scott Gale, 22 Campbell Magnay, 23 Chris Kuridrani.

Date: Sunday, April 26
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 16:05 local (06:05 GMT, 18:05 NZST, 08:05 SAST )
Referee: Nick Briant (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Matt O'Brien (Australia), Damien Mitchelmore (Australia)
TMO: Ian Smith (Australia)