Rebels name Smith in squad

Date published: April 17 2017

Melbourne Rebels have named a 27-man squad for the two-game tour of South Africa against the Sharks in Durban and Kings in Port Elizabeth.

The Rebels, coming off their first win of the season following their two-point victory over the Brumbies, named four uncapped players, including Esei Haangana, Will Miller, Hugh Sinclair, Ikapote Tupai.

The Rebels have also named Toby Smith, who is set to return from a hamstring injury which has sidelined the prop for the first eight rounds of the season.

The Rebels will be without Lopeti Timani, who was suspended for four weeks, injured Dominic Day and Colby Fainga’a, who has remained in Melbourne with the impending birth of his first child.

Melbourne Rebels squad for tour of South Africa: Steve Cummins, Jack Debreczeni, Tom English, Jackson Garden-Bachop, James Hanson, Esei Haangana, Reece Hodge, Mitch Inman, Marika Koroibete, Tyrel Lomax, Amanaki Mafi, Tom Moloney, Will Miller, Sefa Naivalu, Culum Retallick, Fereti Sa’aga, Jake Schatz, Hugh Sinclair, Siliva Siliva, Toby Smith, Mick Snowden, Nic Stirzaker, Ikapote Tupai, Sione Tuipulotu, Jordan Uelese, Laurie Weeks, Ben Volavola