Ranger at 13, Moala breaks protocol

Date published: April 24 2013

Blues coach Sir John Kirwan has made just one change to his starting XV for Friday's clash with the Reds as Rene Ranger starts at 13.

Blues head coach Sir John Kirwan has made just one change to his starting XV for Friday's clash with the Reds as Rene Ranger starts at outside centre.

Ranger returns to his regular position as Francis Saili is relegated to the bench, while Albert Nikoro will make his first start for the Blues on the wing.

George Moala has not been considered for selection due to breaking internal team protocols.

“He didn't share some of the things that he needed to share with us. A big part of our team culture is honesty so he won't be travelling with us. We've got protocols – they know the rules and we're just enforcing them,” Kirwan said.

“Albert Nikoro has come in. He's been training all week and he's excited about the opportunity so it's a great moment for him. He's come off the bench for us, he's one of our good, young guys and it's important that we show we've got a squad that can step up.”

Counties Manukau lock Ronald Raaymakers has been named on the bench in place of Anthony Boric who is suffering from a neck injury.

Kirwan labelled the Reds the best team in the Super Rugby competition and said it was due to their multi-faceted game plan.

“They're very good right across the park,” he said.

“I always think championship sides have the ability to play four game plans. They've got a good kicking game, an expansive game, they can play a tight game and they can play with real intelligence mixing it up.

“They've also got two world class players in Will Genia and Quade Cooper that when they're on their game are very hard to control. So that mix really makes them lethal. For us it's about shutting them down right across the park and we won't be able to relax for one second.”

Blues: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Rene Ranger, 12 Jackson Willison, 11 Albert Nikoro, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Peter Saili, 7 Luke Braid, 6 Steven Luatua, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Culum Retallick, 3 Angus Ta'avao, 2 James Parsons, 1 Tom McCartney.
Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 18 Ronald Raaymakers, 19 Brendon O'Connor, 20 Jamison Gibson-Park, 21 Baden Kerr, 22 Francis Saili.

Date: Friday, April 26
Kick-off: 19:40 local (10:40 BST, 09:40 GMT)
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia), Damien Mitchelmore (Australia)
Television match official: Steve Leszczynski (Australia)