Racing win Top 14 semi-final in extra time

Date published: June 18 2016

Dan Carter's conversion of Juan Imhoff's try sealed a superb extra-time 34-33 win for Racing 92 over Clermont in the Top 14 semi-final in Rennes.

After finishing the contest tied at 27-27 it was Clermont who put themselves on the verge of victory thanks to Scott Spedding's penalty and a Brock James drop goal.

However Racing had the final say, Juan Imhoff's try with three minutes to go in the 20-minute extra time period converted by Carter to send them through to the Top 14 Final.

Clermont might have finished the regular season in first place but suffered more domestic heartache, as Racing instead head to the Nou Camp in Barcelona to face either Toulon or Montpellier.

A drop goal from Camille Lopez opened the scoring for Clermont before Carter struck with three straight penalties to make the score 3-9.

Johan Goosen's try then gave Racing a commanding lead but Fritz Lee crucially hit back before the break for Clermont to go with a Morgan Parra penalty, as Racing led 16-11 by half-time.

Two penalties from Camille Lopez after the break put Clermont into the lead for the first time before Joe Rokocoko's try and a Goosen penalty made it 17-24.

Lopez and Carter traded penalties heading into the final quarter but Wesley Fofana's converted try made the scores level at 27-27 in the 63rd minute.

Neither side could find the necessary score to win, sending the contest to extra-time, where Spedding and James put Clermont in position to clinch the result.

But after Viktor Kolelishvili's yellow card for a dangerous tackle on Luc Ducalcon, Imhoff and Carter combined to snatch victory for Racing at the end of a thrilling encounter.

The scorers:

For Clermont:
Tries: Lee, Fofana
Con: Lopez
Pens: Parra, Lopez 3, Spedding
Drop Goals: Lopez, James
Yellow Card: Kolelishvili

For Racing 92:
Tries: Goosen, Rokocoko, Imhoff
Cons: Carter 2
Pens: Goosen, Carter 4

Clermont: 15 Scott Spedding, 14 David Strettle, 13 Aurélien Rougerie, 12 Wesley Fofana, 11 Nick Abendanon, 10 Camille Lopez, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Alexandre Lapandry, 6 Damien Chouly, 5 Sébastien Vahaamahina, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Daniel Kotze, 2 John Ulugia, 1 Raphaël Chaume
Replacements: 16 Pellow van der Westhuizen, 17 Thomas Domingo, 18 Paul Jedrasiak, 19 Viktor Kolelishvili, 20 Ludovic Radosavljevic, 21 Brock James, 22 Noa Nakaitaci, 23 Davit Zirakashvili

Racing 92: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Joe Rokocoko, 13 Johan Goosen, 12 Henry Chavancy, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Chris Masoe, 7 Yannick Nyanga, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Bernard Le Roux, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Eddy Ben Arous
Replacements: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Khatchik Vartanov, 18 Juandré Kruger, 19 Antonie Claassen, 20 Xavier Chauveau, 21 Marc Andreu, 22 Albert Vulivuli, 23 Luc Ducalcon

Referee: Alexandre Ruiz