Racing outsmart La Rochelle

Date published: May 27 2016

Champions Cup finalist, Racing 92, joined Toulon and Montpellier in a three-way tie for second place, after they beat La Rochelle 30-14 on Friday.  

Toulon and Montpellier, however, have a better points difference and both have one game in hand which incidentally are against each other on Sunday. 

A brace of tries from Argentina wing Juan Imhoff helped the visitors outscore La Rochelle by three tries to one, Brice Dulin got the other one for Racing while Hikairo Forbes scored the home side's only try.

Three penalties from Maxime Javaux along with three conversions, two from Javaux and one from Dulin, saw the visitors outclass their opponents as La Rochelle were made to pay for their mistakes. 

With Racing 92 in a commanding 20-6 half-time, it never seemed as if La Rochelle were going to make any form of comeback. 

The win takes Racing 92 to within six points of the Top 14 table leaders, Clermont, with just one round of the regular season remaining. 

The Scorers:

For La Rochelle:
Try: Forbes 
Pens: Holmes 3 
Yellow Cards: Murimurivalu, Amosa

For Racing 92:
Tries: Imhoff 2, Dulin
Cons: Javaux 2, Dulin
Pens: Javaux 3
Yellow Card: Imhoff

La Rochelle: 15 Gabriel Lacroix, 14 Ratu Alipate Ratini, 13 Pierre Aguillon, 12 Mali Hingano, 11 SaofaI Alofa Alofa, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Julien Audy, 8 Kevin Gourdon, 7 Jone Qovu Nailiko, 6 Jason John Eaton, 5 Leandro Luis Cedaro, 4 Damien Lagrange, 3 Uini Atonio, 2 Hikairo Forbes, 1 Mike Corbel
Replacements: 16 Benjamin Geledan, 17 Thomas Synaeghel, 18 Afaesetiti Amosa, 19 Zeno Kieft, 20 Romain Sazy, 21 Enrico Ricardo Januarie, 22 Kini Murimurivalu, 23 Lekso Kaulashvili,

Racing 92: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Juan Jose Imhoff, 13 Henry Chavancy, 12 Albert James Vulivuli, 11 Marc Andreu, 10 Maxime Javaux, 9 Xavier Chauveau, 8 Antonie Delport Claassen, 7 Bernard le Roux, 6 Luc Barba, 5 Manuel Nicolas Carizza, 4 Luke Caley Charteris, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Dimitri Szarzewski, 1 Eddy Ben Arous
Replacements: 16 Camille Chat, 17 Khatchik Vartanov, 18 Petrus Johannes Juandre Kruger, 19 Ross Ami Filipo, 20 William Michael Phillips, 21 Louis Dupichot, 22 Josevata Taliga